Breakfast / Running / Walks

You go, girl

It is an absolutely beautiful morning. This whole no humidity thing is doing wonders for my outdoor running! I put on my new DriFit top, laced up my sneakers, and ran my 5 mile loop. The fact that the weather was so great completely made up for the fact that my legs were screaming at me…sore from trying the new 100 workout? I still ended up running at my usual pace :)

Oh, and of course I downloaded the latest OnPoint podcast to fuel my brain!

After my run, I decided to take both dogs on walks (separately, of course). I had to clean up a Pippa accident yesterday, and didn’t quite want to deal with that again. I thought the walk might tire her out for a while, but I think she gained energy from the walk for a little bit, running around the kitchen in circles. She’s now laying on the floor.

I was starving, so I made my new favorite: a yogurt cereal bowl! I topped vanilla Chobani with Nature’s Path Organic Crunchy Maple and sliced almonds. I have a banana and cherries on the side.

Looks awfully similar to yesterday’s, huh?

So good!

And now, back to a story I heard yesterday on the TODAY show. It’s about a blogger; so naturally, my head perked up and I was attentive! Gabi Gregg is a fashion plus-size blogger who posted photos of herself on her blog in a bikini.

Seems normal right? Well, it would be. She actually got a ton of criticism for being unhealthy. As a plus-size woman, she’s curvy. I think it’s a little ridiculous that she’s getting chastised for embracing her body in such a public manner. I know many women couldn’t dream of having the confidence to do so.

Gregg’s message is not one to be ignored. Women, especially young women, struggle with body image issues due to pressures from the media, celebrities, and even their own peers’.

A lot of the time, we get caught up in what COULD be instead of what we actually are. Instead of overfocusing on what we think can make us better, why not embrace the great features we have? I know it’s cliche, but we’re all originals. I fear that we’ll lose that originality if we follow the leads we see in the media.

In fact, I find that the people I see as the most confident and most comfortable with themselves are the ones who are different and “break the rules.”

“I love my body,” [Gregg] said. “I think we should reject these fashion rules about what we are and about what we are not allowed to wear.”

That’s my soapbox for the day. Check out the rest of the article here.

Leave a Reply

