Uncategorized

Weekend excitement

Well, I’ve finished packing and am more than ready for a weekend away. I love the lake for so many reasons; but if I had to choose just one, it would definitely be because of the peace, serenity, and feeling of seclusion I’ll have. I’ll try to blog while I’m there, but I’d really love to just enjoy my time and not have to worry about daily postings.

No worries, though. I’ve got two books packed, so the book reviews will be posted next week and posts will be much more timely. That being said, I’ll recap my outings today as well as post some Pinterest recipes I’m dying to make once I get back home.

I did something monumental today. Truly. I slept in! Granted, it was only until about 8, but it felt fantastic. I don’t know what it is about that extra hour of sleep, but it was working for me. I had a small snack before working out to tide me over until breakfast. This whole double breakfast thing works for me!

Want to become a morning exerciser? I promise you won’t regret it. Here’s a great link from Shape magazine.

After running on the treadmill for a bit, (I just HAD to watch the Flo Rida concert on the TODAY show) I had some breakfast and embarked on an iced coffee mission. Mornings without iced coffee are very bad around here. After that, I pretty much just hung around until beginning to pack and prepare for tomorrow’s trip.

Preparations included endless errands with my dad. My favorite of the day? Costco, of course! We wanted to buy as much stuff in bulk as we could because we’re super prepared like that. Productive day.

I spent some time researching and FINALLY finding a decent half marathon training plan. I ended up using SmartCoach from Runner’s World magazine after reading countless bloggers’ raves about it. You’re required to make a username, but the application is totally free. It allows you to put in your latest time for a race, average mileage, and date of the race in order to customize a plan that works for you. I have to adjust mine a bit since it has my first long run at 13 miles (woah) but other than that, I plan to stick to it.

Now, on to more exciting things…Pinterest recipes!

This one is first on my list:

Image

S’mores oatmeal cookie bites! All my favorite things combined.

Image

Chobani banana bread. Because banana bread is my favorite.

Image

Coconut chicken. I’m not sure what is is about me right now, but I am obsessed with coconut!

Image

And last but not least, a smoothie to refuel me after morning runs!

Those should suffice for now. Like I said, I’ll aim to squeeze in a post here and there this weekend, but I don’t want to be a slave to my laptop. Not to mention, the Internet connection is pretty shotty down in Southern Virginia. We’ll play it by ear :)

 

 

Leave a Reply

