Uncategorized

A rainy first day

Hello from rainy Blacksburg (or Bleaksburg, as the locals call it)!

Alright, so here’s my first stab at this whole blogging thing. I’ve been writing a weekly blog for HerCampus Virginia Tech, but I really wanted to have my own place to talk about whatever I wanted. Ergo, runningonjava. I’ll start by explaining my blog’s title. I wanted something that described me and was semi-creative and memorable. It actually didn’t take me as long to decide on the title as I thought it would. Running and coffee are two things people most likely think of when they hear my name. I don’t mind, though. As I write this blog, I’m sitting in Starbucks enjoying my usual: a Grande sweetened iced coffee with whole milk…delicious! I headed here after my last Resources Geology lecture of the semester (yay!) The fact that freshman year is quickly coming to a close didn’t quite hit me until my professor said that this morning. I just have to wrap up this semester of classes, and it’s back home for three months! I expect to be pretty busy; though. I’m taking a few online classes so I can prepare to apply to the Communication school and leave the business school. Let’s just say, business and I didn’t quite get along. Plus, I decided that if I’m going to get a degree, it better be in something I actually enjoy and can see myself doing for the rest of my life. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish my online classes quickly, because I’ll begin nannying when public schools get out around mid-June.

As for the rest of the day, I have my final meeting with my calculus tutor, (a genius, and the only way I have possibly survived “Elementary Calculus with Matrices”) Religion in American Life, and a meeting with my Creative Writing Professor to discuss my final portfolio. I’m hoping to squeeze in a yoga class later tonight, as I didn’t get a great stretch after my morning run. I also hope to get some reading done. I started The Imperfectionists earlier this week and have really been enjoying it. It’s about journalists, so I felt an instant connection to it. Needless to say, I’ll be busy. I’m also praying my laptop doesn’t die mid-day. That’s the absolute worst. Bummer…my coffee’s running low, a refill might be necessary. Since I don’t have any great pictures for today, here’s a funny one from my last visit to JMU with my boyfriend. Of course, we’re at Starbucks.

Here’s a quote to get you going today:

“Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.”

George Bernard Shaw

One thought on “A rainy first day

Leave a Reply

