Uncategorized

Recycling and leftovers

I decided I couldn’t post just once today. Sometimes, I just feel like writing! I spent this morning hanging out with my little sister. She went in late to school to relax before the big AP Psychology exam. I was soo nervous for mine- but ended up doing really well and earning some college credit! She’s working hard on that now, so I’m sending her my luck!

I finally sold the remainder of my freshman year textbooks today through Amazon’s trade-in deal. It’s so great, and I definitely recommend it. I did not make anywhere near an amount comparable to what I originally paid for the textbooks, but made more than I would have selling through the bookstore…so that’s a win for me.

After that, I had to get some coffee (I also realized that 10 A.M. is far too late to wait for coffee). The Starbucks near my house has an interesting ad campaign going on…encouraging recycling while also making you feel bad for throwing non-recyclables into a landfill.

Having just completed a course in Resources Geology, this interested me. We spent many a lecture discussing sustainability (one lecture included my professor’s personal take on our country’s recycling/waste/economic policy- that’s college for ya, huh?). Considering Starbucks’ large use of plastic and cardboard cups, straws, lids, etc, I thought the trashcan was smart.

The trashcan also made me feel super great about always using my reusable tumbler. Not only do I save .10 off every drink, I’m also saving the environment in my own little way!

Once I arrived back home, I started to read my newest book, A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’ve read Khaled Hosseini’s other book, The Kite Runner, loved it, so I thought I’d give this one a go. I may or may not already be 50 pages into it.

Hunger set in right in time- so I thought I’d make a good use of our leftovers! We grilled some fancy chicken from Wegmans last night, so I heated it up and made a funky sandwich: hummus and chicken on one side, and cheese and chicken on the other. I also toasted it (maybe for a bit too long) and ate some pears, and my new favorite flavor of Chobani (Black Cherry) on the side. I can never get too much Chobani.

As for the rest of the day, I’ve got a few errands to run and I’ve heard rumors of a possible manicure/pedicure date with my sister? I need it!

Leave a Reply

