Uncategorized

Running outside (again)

I can’t tell you how amazing it felt to run outside again today! I love my treadmill workouts, but there’s something about actually hitting the pavement that’s exhilarating. My dad and I found a 5-mile loop around our house, loved it!

I used the iMapMyRun app on my iPhone so I could log the distance and pace. I ended up running way faster than usual, which felt great (I finished just under 40 minutes). I also learned that our loop is actually 5.11 miles…I’m all about the details. 

It was great to get outside bright and early especially today. It was our neighborhood’s annual garage sale, so I got to check out what everyone was selling. People were just setting up as I was leaving, nothing too interesting. As I was running back, the sales were in full swing. It always amazes me just how many people show up to garage sales. There were cars parked on either side of my street, which made my drive back from getting coffee quite dangerous. 

My family decided to go say hi to our neighbors who were selling…with an ulterior motive. I’ve been wanting to babysit my neighbor’s kids to make some extra money, so we “planted the seed.” 

Image

I started a new book last night and am already more than 100 pages into it. I was so happy to find it on the paperback bestsellers’ shelf as I perused Barnes and Noble earlier this week. 

It’s all about baseball! I love baseball season over any sports season. As a kid, we often went to baseball games (White Sox with my dad’s side, and the Cub’s with my mom’s side) and I even had a short t-ball and fast pitched softball career. 

I’ll post a review later this week when I finish the book, but it follows the life of an up-and-coming baseball player. I was interested in the book’s content, but also in the author. After reading his bio, I learned he was a UVa grad. Although I’m a Hokie, it was cool to see the author was educated at a school so close to home! 

The book is a definite challenge for me though. I actually have begun to sit down with a Post-it note pad to write down words I don’t know to look them up later (avuncular? novitiate? tumescence?). I can’t wait to perplex people with my new complex vocabulary words 🙂 

Plans to spend lots of time outside today, it’s already shaping up to be a beautiful day. I leave you with a picture of the sunflowers I bought for my mom yesterday!

Image

Leave a Reply

