Uncategorized

Honey, honey

I seemed to pop out of bed this morning! I love it when that happens; it makes me feel like it’s going to be a good day! In preparation for the race this weekend, I did a longer treadmill interval workout but modified it a bit since I’m a little sore. I was more than ready for breakfast when the time rolled around, and I was craving carbs! Good thing we had Van’s multigrain waffles and…honey?

First of all, aren’t honey containers the cutest?! They look like teddy bears and it reminds me of Winnie The Pooh (I replayed his cute laugh in my head as I typed that). A couple weeks ago, I was reading a section on fuel during running from one of my favorite magazines, Runner’s World. As many runners are well aware, there are funky goos and bars to eat while running from companies like PowerBar and Clif. My dad used the goos while training for and running a marathon. They’ve always intrigued me, and I’ve wondered if they actually provide the energy and replenishment needed while running long distances.

My training hasn’t brought me to run long enough distances to use the goos, but hopefully it will someday! Anyway, the article discussed how bringing little honey packets while running may be just as helpful as using these goos (and less expensive, too!). Honey has a high mineral and and vitamin content, and is one of the most pure forms of glucose and fructose, sugars used in energy drinks, gels, and bars.

Honey is also packed with carbohydrates- excellent for runners. In one tablespoon of my honey, there’s 17 grams of carbohydrates. This means that if you’re running for two to three hours, that 1 tablespoon will keep glycogen levels up. Start snagging some honey packets!

I made my breakfast pretty and fruit-filled today. Like I said, I poured some honey atop my Van’s multigrain mixed berry waffles. I had some blueberries, strawberries, and a banana sliced up on the side.

I’m always more inclined to eat something that looks pretty! Back later 🙂

Leave a Reply

