Dessert / Recipes / Uncategorized

Sweet treats

I had a major sweet tooth this afternoon and evening. Lucky for my family, my sweet tooth results in baked goods! I started by making peanut butter energy bites, then made chocolate chia seed pudding for my evening snack. Both were delicious! I’ll start with the peanut butter energy bites. Super easy, only four ingredients!

Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 egg

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients in mixing bowl and spoon onto greased baking sheets.
  2. Bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.
  3. Let cool and enjoy!

You can pretty much add anything into these! I debated adding dried cherries and chocolate chips, but then decided to keep it simple. You can also omit the wheat germ and add a cup of sugar for plain old peanut butter cookies. They’re so good because they stay gooey on the inside!

The cookies were really crumbly (maybe it’s the wheat germ?). I think they’d be great on plain or vanilla Chobani as a snack…it’s a definite possibility tomorrow.

Next up is chocolate chia seed pudding! I am a chocolate lover for sure, so this was right up my alley. Warning: if you’re not a fan of funky textures, this may be weird for you. The texture is a lot like tapioca pudding.

Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon Hershey’s dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Directions

  1. Cover and let sit in fridge for 2-3 hours (or longer).

This was kind of like a science experiment for me. The chia seeds absorbed a lot of the milk, which made it thick and pudding-like. It looks a little like sludge, but if you can get past that, it’s a fantastic dessert! I attribute it’s super dark color to the dark chocolate cocoa powder…it may look more normal if you’re not using the Special Dark kind!

Check out my coffee mug, courtesy of my best friend, Jenna! We went pottery painting last summer and had lots of fun! This mug is enormous, and plan to use it for cereal and oatmeal in the future since it’s like a bowl!

Off to finish watching Modern Family! Now I can fast forward through the commercials 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sweet treats

  1. Pingback: Page not found « runningonjava

  2. Pingback: Sans technology | runningonjava

Leave a Reply

