Books / Breakfast / Running / Travel / Workout

Incendiary

I did something amazing today- I slept in! Only for a little while, though. I had an apple, then hopped on the treadmill for a workout. I ran 4.5 miles of hills in preparation for the super hilly runs I’ll be conquering this weekend. Once I was done, I knew exactly what I was craving.

A simple, HUGE bowl of cereal. And cold milk.

I sliced up a banana and added some blueberries for fruit. I mixed some Honey Nut Cheerios and Kashi, topped it with chia seeds, and was ready to go!

The chia seed obsession continues. Anyway, I’ll get on my with my book review!

Incendiary

I chose this book because I read Chris Cleave’s other novel, Little Bee and loved it. I enjoyed this book too, but it wasn’t easy getting there. Usually when I read books, I become completely enthralled and cannot put them down (see my review for The Art of Fielding). I had a lot of trouble getting into this one. That being said, I was also super busy this week as my summer classes began and wasn’t able to devote as much time to it as I would have liked to.

After realizing my online professors are actually barring me from getting ahead in my classes, I sat down and finished the book late yesterday morning. The verdict? It wasn’t my favorite, but was definitely interesting.

The story is told from the point of view of a British woman who loses her husband and four year old son to terrorist attacks at a soccer game in London, May Day. The aspect of the point of view that made this book even more interesting was the fact that the mother is writing a letter to Osama Bin Laden. In describing it to my mom, I called it a “stream-of-consciousness.” The woman is from the lower class of London, and is presumptuously not well-educated. At times, it was difficult to decipher her language. It gave the story a perspective I’d never experienced before.

The story takes a bunch of unexpected turns, and they are somewhat twisted. It gave me insight into the mind of someone suffering through an intense bought of post-traumatic stress, so sympathy and understanding were relatively easy.

I might have enjoyed the book more if I had read it in a shorter period of time. I went long periods without reading it, so it was often difficult to get back into the story. Another complaint: there were no chapters. When I’m reading, I use the chapters as accomplishments. “I’m going to read until I get to chapter 10, then go to bed.” That’s probably not the best way to go about it, but it’s what I do. It wasn’t until the end of the book that I realized the story was being told seasonally, and the majority of the plot occurred during the summer. I could never find a good place to stop, as the woman’s stream of consciousness continues.

After reading, I discovered that the book was actually turned into a movie in 2008. I would really be interested to see the movie, although I’m not sure where one finds old movies anymore! Most Blockbusters seem to be out of business these days.

I finished Incendiary in the knick of time, now I can bring a new book to read on the dock at the lake this weekend! I started Diane Chamberlain’s The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes last night, and can’t wait to finish it. So far, it appears to be a murder-mystery taking place in a small town- the perfect summer read!

I’ve got some packing and shopping to do before we head out the door today! I’m hoping it’s sunnier by the time we leave!

Leave a Reply

