Breakfast / Dinner / Lunch / Recipes / Travel

Friday recap

Since my internet connection was awful for my trip, I’ll recap my Friday now. I have a new recipe!

A hot version of overnight oats-ish! Even though it was super hot in Chicago on Friday, I wanted to try a version of oatmeal I’ve seen on other blogs. It was a success, I even made them this morning again!

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 rolled oats
  • 1 spoonful peanut butter
  • 1 banana

Directions

  1. Cook oatmeal as you normally would (boil the milk, then add oats).
  2. Slice up 1/2 the banana and add to oats. It will start to get melty!
  3. For the last 30 seconds or so, add the peanut butter until it too becomes melty.
  4. Slice up the rest of the banana to top!

Peanut butter and bananas are probably the best combination. This was a great breakfast and kept me full forever! Next time, I’ll add chopped nuts.

After attending my grandma’s care meeting and stopping at Starbucks,

we ventured to Oak Park to eat at Erik’s Deli, a childhood favorite. The restaurant has been renovated since I lived there and the menu’s changed up a bit, but I still loved it! I ordered a veggie wrap. I’m usually apprehensive to order veggie meals, but I didn’t regret this one.

The wrap was served hot and was packed with avocado, cheese, sprouts, peppers, and zucchini. It also had some fancy dressing which added some extra flavor!

The pickle remained uneaten. I just don’t like them! I liked being back in Oak Park and all my childhood places, it brought back so many great memories! I love where I am now, but it’s good to go back to the place I grew up.

After lunch, we went back to visit my grandma where I learned how to play cribbage. I won; beginners luck, I guess!

Later in the afternoon, we met up with my aunt to see The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. I loved it! Dev Patel played the manager of the hotel, and I was reminded of how great he was in Slumdog Millionaire. It was an inspirational movie, but I was probably one of the youngest in the theater.

After the movie, we were sufficiently hungry. Good thing I had chili cooking in the Crock Pot all day!

I love using the Crock Pot to cook. All you have to do is add all your ingredients and let them sit all day!

I need to work on my spices, though. I tend to go a little overboard 🙂 All in all, Friday was a great, jam-packed day. I think I wore my grandpa out!

Leave a Reply

