Dinner / Races / Running / Travel

Words to the wise

I learned a few important lessons today. But we’ll get to those in a moment. For now, I’ll recap my Saturday. I started early as usual, and got to some cleaning around my grandparents’ condo to prepare for my cousin’s arrival (Hi, Kate!). I went out to Starbucks to grab some coffee, then prepared more peanut butter banana oatmeal. I’m afraid I’ll get stuck in a rut, much like last week’s cereal bowls.

I wanted to take it easy this morning in preparation for the Twilight Festival Four Miler this evening.

The morning passed by quickly as I was consumed by cleaning and working on an essay for one of my online classes. My aunt picked me up at around 11 to head to the airport. Thank goodness we left in plenty of time, because we hit two freight trains on the way. Oh, I don’t miss getting stopped by trains. I do NOT have the patience for it.

After a briefly getting stopped by airport security, (I accidentally packed my 6 oz hair curling cream) I grabbed lunch before going to my gate. Who knew Potbelly made salads?! They’re almost as good as the sandwiches. Almost.

Mine was the grilled chicken with tomatoes, cucumbers, provolone cheese (my favorite) and craisins. The only thing that might have made it better would have been the addition of some nuts!

I finished Anna Quindlen’s Black and Blue (review to come) and began Diane Chamberlain’s The Lies We Told. I’m hooked already, so I know it’ll be a quick read.

Southwest lets you choose your own seats; and today I chose wrong. Not only was it the middle seat, but I was next to a VERY talkative woman and a young kid who brought an ever-so-fragrant bag of McDonald’s food on the flight. The combination of this woman’s life story and the smell of the food gave me a massive headache the entire flight. I ended up finishing my essay, though!

My first word to the wise: hydrate on airplanes. I usually don’t because I despise using the airplane bathroom, but I never realized just how dehydrated flying makes you! …especially if you’re running a race later that day. Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate!

Mom picked me up at the airport and we made a quick stop at the grocery store to get fixins for dinner. Here’s my second word to the wise. Do NOT eat a heavy meal close to a race. Especially sloppy joes. I tend to think I’m invincible here, and ate far too fast and too close to the race. I felt it, that’s for sure.

Even though I felt awful during the race, I ended up getting second in my age group again and 35th out of all the women running! Considering there were 500+ women, that’s pretty good. I also kept the exact same pace as my 8k pace last month, 7:37. 4 miles is a weird race distance, and I probably would have enjoyed it more if I didn’t feel dinner trying to escape me the entire time.

But, I finished, and any finish is a success to me. I always say I’m never going to run for time, but I can’t help it! The competitive side of me definitely comes out during races.

I want to do something cool with all my race bibs, any ideas?

Now, I’m enjoying some ice cream and winding down in front of the TV for a while. It was a long day, for sure!

 

2 thoughts on “Words to the wise

  1. Hi Megan! Thanks for the mention! I have a scrapbook with all my bibs and official times (which are definately not as good as yours, but hey a finish is a finish). We could also make a blanket with all the t-shirts when you get too many, I did one with Matt’s high school shirts and it turned out alright, but now I know how to do them so thats a good thing. Those are just some ideas 🙂 glad you made it home and thanks for cleaning! 😀

  2. as your frnd suggested, i too, would suggest putting them together as a blanket…sew them together using a fancy stitch and then attach to some sort of baking and you have a nice rememberance, however i would simply start by attaching all together and if ever you finish running (which i doubt) you can then complete the blanket. much like aunt Marsha has with memorable notes and pictures for Pat.
    AS

Leave a Reply

