Breakfast / Races / Running / Workout

Sans technology

Good morning! Despite my best efforts to sleep in today after such a long day yesterday, I wasn’t able to. I had a hard time falling asleep, but once I did, I was out. Nothing beats that first night sleeping in your bed when you’ve been gone a while.

I am so sore from yesterday’s run! Whenever I run at race speed, I wake up the next day with lots of tightness in my hamstrings. I had a banana when I woke up to hopefully ease some of that soreness. Bananas are such a great power food!

I had planned to go on a morning run, just a quick 5k loop around my neighborhood. I didn’t want to run for time, so I didn’t bring my phone to track my distance or time. When I do sans technology runs, I’m able to focus on my running technique and form (which I tend to lose when I’m focused on beating a time).

I’m trying to have longer strides while running. I have such short legs; maybe training my legs to have longer strides will help with the soreness? Regardless, a relaxing run without technology is great  for remembering why you love to run as well as for enjoying the weather.

I’m happy I went for a mini-run this morning, I find that running  a little bit the day after a race eases my soreness as opposed to just doing nothing!

While eating my banana, I tried a new overnight oats recipe! There wasn’t any vanilla Chobani at the grocery store yesterday, so this recipe is sans Chobani (guess this is a post on how to do without, huh?).  These oats were great, they tasted just like cookie dough!

Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 vanilla coconut milk (or almond/milk of your choice)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 – 1 tablespoon honey
  • cinnamon to taste

Directions

  1. Mix ingredients and store in fridge in airtight container (I just store it in a bowl with saran wrap over the top).
  2. Let sit overnight, or 30 minutes to an hour the day of.
  3. Add fruit or nuts.

The chia seeds are essential to this recipe because they allow the ingredients to thicken (remember chia seed pudding?).

I added some extra coconut milk to my oats, and stirred in some sliced almonds!

I kicked the peanut butter banana oatmeal rut just like I said I would!

Leave a Reply

