Books / Breakfast / Recipes

Black and Blue-berry muffin oatmeal

Before I get to my review, I’d like to share an awesome breakfast recipe I tried today!

Blueberry Muffin Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1/3 vanilla coconut milk/milk of your choice
  • 1/3 water
  • 1/3 rolled oats
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • large handful blueberries
  • 1 spoonful peanut butter
Directions
  1. Combine milk, water and oats until about halfway cooked.
  2. Add mashed banana and blueberries
  3. Add peanut butter right before taking off stove
  4. It will be thick, so add more water or milk to your desired consistency!
I loved this! It was a great way to use up all our extra blueberries! I sliced up the rest of my banana and added the rest to the top of my oats!

While away in Chicago, I finished reading Anna Quindlen’s Black and Blue. I really enjoyed it; but for some reason had a heck of a time getting through it. What should have been a short read took way longer. I wanted to get into a discussion with this one, so here’s my spoiler alert now!

The book follows a young woman, Frannie Bennedetto, who is stuck in an abusive relationship. I found a lot of the details regarding the relationship very vivid and saddending. Quindlen chose to go into detail in describing the violent instances. I think it definitely added to the story, many of the details were just shocking.

It seems as though a woman in an abusive relationship would be more than happy to get up and leave her husband/boyfriend/significant other, but we know that typically does not happen. Usually, the abuser is controlling and the woman is too scared to leave.

That’s exactly the case in Black and Blue. Adding to the difficulty in leaving is the fact that the two have a son together.  The son admires his father and loves his mother, leaving Frannie to make a very difficult decision: continue the cycle of abuse, or save her and possibly her son’s life.

Frannie chooses to run away with her son to Florida (far away from their former home in New York City). She contacts a woman who is able to help her change her name, provide her with identification documents, a home, a job, and a school for her son. Frannie becomes Beth Crenshaw. As far as anyone in Florida knows, Frannie Bennedetto does not exist.

Of course, she is scared her husband will track her down. As she should be, his job as a police officer implies that. Frannie finds it increasingly difficult to keep a low profile and to essentially live a double life.

I found it so interesting that Frannie was able to completely start over. She struggled, of course, but for the most part, she made her new identification believable. Frannie/Beth is a courageous character, and I admire her ability to stand up to her husband and leave.

I’m not sure how realistic it would be for someone to actually go about doing this, and it actually reminded me of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, the Diane Chamberlain novel I recently finished reading. Sometimes, it’s hard to just be yourself, I can’t imagine how hard it would be to turn into someone else in an instant!

I’m currently about halfway through Diane Chamberlain’s The Lies We Told. Loving it so far!

Leave a Reply

