Breakfast / Lunch / Music / Running

Dad’s birthday

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday! We had a jam-packed day full of festivities, and once I upload the pictures from the family camera, you can see all our fun party pictures!

I started off the day with a run and a cereal bowl.

I read the latest Date Lab on the side, typical Saturday morning. I then joined my dad on his routine weekend errands, which included a trip to the barber shop (I was the only girl in there, go figure!).

More cereal. It was a mix of Kashi Berry Blossoms and another random Kashi cereal we have at home…it resembles horse feed. I also had some almonds and the usual banana!

I tried a new drink at Starbucks yesterday! I’m not sure how often I’ll be getting it, though. I tried a shot of espresso in my iced coffee! I was pretty jumpy for a couple of hours after I had it…not sure if I necessarily want to repeat that feeling.

Anyway, we had a surprise in store for my dad. So, we went out to lunch at Coyote Grill. I’d had it at one of my friend’s graduation parties last year, so I thought we’d give it a try. We sat outside on the patio and loved it!

We started off with chips, guacamole, and salsa. Then, my sister, mom and I ordered salads. Mine was topped with shrimp, crab meat, pineapple, mango, and a cilantro-lime dressing. So good!

After lunch, we headed to historic Blenheim in nearby Fairfax City. It’s an old house where Civil War soldiers stayed and signed their names on the walls. There’s over 118 signatures, all preserved. My history buff dad loved it, and the girls in the family thought it’d be a great place to have a cute little wedding :).

Once we arrived home, it was present opening time! I’ll post the pictures here when they’re uploaded.

We were in a bit of a rush all day because I had the Dave Matthews Band concert on the agenda for yesterday evening.

The weather was beautiful, and the music was great.

One thought on “Dad’s birthday

Leave a Reply

