Dinner / Walks

Dad’s celebration continues

Dad’s weekend continued today (my dad’s birthday + Father’s Day)! We all slept in this morning…except my body clock didn’t quite get the message. I only slept in about an hour later than usual. When I woke up, I made blueberry muffins and got the pot of coffee going.

With a little bit of fuel, dad and I went out for a run at around 9 AM. I’d been wanting him to show me the 6-mile loop nearby our house so I can start running it! Lots of runners were out this morning, it’s always great to see people up bright and early and exercising!

After our run, house-cleaning went underway. I turned in some assignments for my online classes, and began my duties. Cleaning took up a little more time than anticipated, so our afternoon plans got pushed back a bit.

Once we were finished, mom and I headed out to run some errands. In search of some deals, we stopped by the newly renovated Super Wal-Mart by our house. We both used to despise going to Wal-Mart; but with the renovations, we’re converts! It has such a nice grocery store section!

We picked up a new dog bowl and leash for Pippa, but our main motivation was getting dinner. Dad requested a simple dinner: beer-soaked brats and peppers and onions. Success!

At around 4, we headed out for our afternoon Father’s Day activity: hiking! We went to Fountainhead Regional Park, only about 25 minutes away from our house. There were a ton of people there having cookouts, kayaking, biking, and hiking. We had no idea this place even existed until today!

We took Pippa along too. She loved it and went crazy near the water.

She also kept us moving at a speedy pace; and the incline was steep! Next time, we may consider not taking the horse trail and maybe trying the paved bike trail? All the roots made it a treacherous hike. The trail is actually about 17 miles long, but we think we only did about 2. Next time, I plan to bring my phone to map it out.

We haven’t been hiking in a while, and it was good to get out and enjoy the afternoon!

When we arrived home, it was high time for Pippa to get her first bath! She even got to use our special Garnier Fructis shampoo. Fancy, huh?

Dinner was great! The beautiful weather continued, so we enjoyed our brats, peppers and onions, and fruit salad outside on the back porch.

Now, we’re getting ready to watch some TV and veg for the rest of the evening. Back tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

