Dinner / Recipes / School

Babysitting days

Before I begin talking about my first two days back on the job, I want to give my friend Matt Porter a shout out for an awesome performance last night! Matt went to my high school and was on the newspaper staff with me. He’s a super talented guitar player and vocalist. Last night, he had the opportunity to play at Jammin’ Java, a small venue that hosts pretty major bands! I went with some other former fellow newspaper staffers (hi, Shannon and Caroline :)) and we had a blast.

We went to Chipotle before and I’m pretty sure that was the fastest I’ve ever downed a burrito bowl. We were worried about being late. As irony would have it, the venue was late! Regardless, we got to see Matt play a bunch of songs and had a good time.

He even signed a copy of his ~shrink wrapped~ CD for Shannon.

On to babysitting days! As you may know, I’m a strong believer in routine. I think that’s why I love babysitting so much. Having something useful to do during my days gives me the opportunity to create the schedule which I love oh-so-much.

My days start early, at around 8 AM (although I’m up earlier than that, getting a workout in and of course, stopping for coffee). I love waking up early. The fact that it was about 100 degrees during the day today made me even happier that I ran in the early morning hours.

I love spending the day with the kids! They’re so energetic. We have a long list of summer activities on the docket (crafts, pool and Starbucks trips, etc.).

On to those pool trips…I’ve succumbed to the hype and have begun reading 50 Shades of Grey. Look forward to my review in the next day or so. It’s nothing like I expected it to be, nothing I’m usually interested in reading, yet I can’t put it down. Although, I should. It’s awkward reading it at the pool, and it even feels weird leaving it out in the open for all to see. Let’s just say this is a time where I wish I had downloaded it to my Kindle. Maybe THAT’S why people are using them…

All that being said, I am exhausted right now. It’s been a couple of long days and slightly stressful keeping up with school work along with babysitting. Good thing I only have one week left of my summer class!

I came home today and made a great dinner for my mom and I: Curry Chicken Lettuce Wraps! My sister is a huge fan of lettuce wraps, so I thought I’d give this recipe a try. It’s really easy. All I did was cook up ground chicken breast, put it in a bowl, and added 1 tbsp. curry powder, 1 1/12 tbsp. Miracle Whip, 1 tbsp. honey, and salt and pepper to taste. I added some orange bell pepper, scallions, and tomatoes to the mix since we had them in the fridge. Scoop it into a lettuce cup and you’re good to go!

+ tomatoes…

Now, I’m planning on catching up on some TV and having some ice cream 🙂

Leave a Reply

