Books / Dinner / Recipes

50 Shades of Grey

Before I get to the most important part of this post, my review of 50 Shades of Grey, I want to talk about dinner!

It was just my dad and I for dinner, and I had one thing on my mind: crab cakes! I found a recipe online earlier this week and I was dying to try it. So, we went to the store and picked up the ingredients. It’s so easy, here’s the recipe.

Crab Cakes

Ingredients

  • 1 8 oz. container crab meat
  • 1 tablespoon mayo
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 egg
  • chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • chili powder
  • oregano
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Heat fry pan and spray with nonstick spray.
  3. Cook the cakes!

Along with dinner, we had a side of asparagus and I also made some sweet potato fries. I love sweet potato fries, and the homemade version is just as easy as buying them frozen! Just slice, and bake at 425 for about 10 minutes (depending on how thickly you slice).

Dinner was a success, and I think my family appreciates my interest in cooking. No one else has to do any work!

On to my review…I finished 50 Shades of Grey yesterday. At the pool, in front of all the neighborhood moms. It was disgustingly hot yesterday so I gave up trying to hide it, my focus fully on finishing the novel.

My mom read the book before I did, was surprised at its content, and told me I had to read it. I was hesitant at first, but I gave into peer pressure and had to give it a try. I honestly had no idea what it was about, only that it was incredibly erotic and was being banned from some libraries. I’d also heard all the mocking on talk and radio shows.  I figured I’d better hop on the bandwagon as it’s become quite the cultural phenomenon.

Let’s just say you won’t be able to put it down for reasons you likely won’t be able to explain. It’s not that I was kept reading because of its raunchiness- the storyline and plot was just that gripping.

I’m not sure how to describe the plot without giving too much away, so I’ll try my best. It follows the story of Anastasia Steele, a recent college graduate,  in love with a man who is absolutely no good for her. She first meets him during an interview in which she fills in for her reporter friend. Surely a day she’ll never forget, as he haunts her for days following the interview. Christian Grey is filthy rich as a CEO of a seemingly thriving business, has hauntingly beautiful eyes, and I imagine him looking like Ryan Gosling (my celebrity crush). Pair that with his control issues, and you have the story of Christian and Anastasia.  It’s a pretty basic plot line…but trust me, you’ll be hooked.

Speaking of vague, that seems to perfectly describe the author herself. She only goes by E L James, and her bio reads like this:

“E L James is a former TV executive, wife, and mother of two based in London. Since early childhood, she dreamed of writing stories that readers would fall in love with but put those dreams on hold to focus on her family and her career.”

I would say she’s definitely succeeded in her goal, as all three additions to the trilogy are on and have been on The New York Times bestseller list for quite some time.

I’ve started a new book, but I have a feeling it’ll be a quick read. After that, I’ll be finishing the rest of the trilogy. I guess I’ll have to swallow my pride and openly read it at the pool.

Leave a Reply

