Books / Dinner

Sweltering summers & sad news

Yesterday evening, I went to my little sister’s summer league field hockey game. It was so much fun seeing her play the sport that fueled my high school summers and falls, I love it.

The game was intense, as they were playing for one of the top four seeds. Although they dominated the entire game, they lost within the last five minutes. It’s a bummer, but the league is just for fun and practice.

Being at her game reminded me of the many summers I spent playing and then coaching my high school’s team for summer league. I hated going. Absolutely dreaded it. It wasn’t that I didn’t like playing, the Virginia summer sun and heat is just too much to bear at times.

Amanda’s in the aqua shorts and (blindingly) bright orange jersey.

Luckily, the league is during the evenings so the heat gives way a bit. I took a few (poor quality) pictures at the game, but my mom and I got a little too chatty toward the middle, and too focused on winning toward the end. It’s hard being a spectator when you want to be in the game. Had they needed extra players, I would have suited up and headed out! Granted, my skills would be rusty and my performance sub-par. With a couple games, I’m sure I’d get used to it again.

The game brought back a lot of great memories for me, field hockey was something I always looked forward to. I am a firm believer of getting involved with team sports, if for nothing more than simple companionship while also exercising. I find it pretty ironic that I’m such a running junkie now, as it can be pretty individualistic at times!

Anyway, my mom had to work late and I knew we’d both be hungry by the time the game rolled around, so I brought us a little picnic dinner! I made a pasta salad with green peppers, onion, and chicken salad. I also made a dressing with equal parts red wine vinegar, olive oil, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 1 tsp of sugar, 1 tbsp basil, and salt and pepper to taste. It chilled in the fridge until I left for the game. Usually a fan of hot dinners, I was surprised I liked this so much. It probably has something to do with this ridiculous heat.

As for the rest of my day, I’ve got two finals to take between today and Saturday. I’m really nervous! Once they’re done, I know it will feel like a weight has been completely lifted off my shoulders. I dug my Kindle out of hiding yesterday and purchased Jodi Picoult’s and her daughter Samantha Van Leer’s newest Young Adult novel, Between the Lines. So far, so good. Her daughter actually came up with the idea for the plot; I supposed it helps that her mom is a super successful best-selling author, huh? I have a feeling it will be slightly different from Picoult’s other books, but I’m excited for it all the same.

I’ve saved the worst for last today. On Thursday, Ann Curry announced that she’s leaving the Today show. As an avid and longtime watcher of the show, I’m incredibly upset because I love Ann. She is a great journalist and whoever takes her place (I believe it’s Savannah Guthrie) has big shoes to fill. Ann’s announcement was emotional and raw, leading me to believe she was definitely forced to resign in light of Matt’s recently revamped contract. It’s upsetting and unfair to say the least. Ann shouldn’t be the one to have to take the fall for the entire Today show’s drop in ratings.

Leave a Reply

