Babysitting / Monday Musings

Monday musings

I decided to start having themes for my daily posts. This way, I’ll always have something to write about, and something for readers to look forward to. I’ve creatively titled Monday’s post “Monday Musings.” That basically means Mondays will be a bunch of random thoughts.

1. I’ve begun quite a few crafting projects since I finished my summer classes. My latest endeavor?

It will be perfect for my apartment next year. Later this week, I plan to complete these!

Easy, and super cute!

I found so many old pens while cleaning out my desk, so why not make them look cute?

I saw similar looking bobby pins at one of my favorite, but very expensive stores, Anthropologie. No need to spend more money than I have to, right?

2. I’ve been loving keeping up with the Olympic trials. My favorite summer Olympic sports? Gymnastics, Track & Field, and Swimming. Okay, swimming is really only there because I’m in love with Ryan Lochte. I love Track & Field for obvious reasons (although watching the women run my former race, the 100 meter dash in under ten seconds does make me feel a little bad about myself!). As for gymnastics, I love watching how fearless the girls are. Doing all those flips and turns on the balance beam and bars scared me when I was young and in gymnastics! I’m always so surprised at how young many of the Olympic hopefuls are. It’s hard to believe that 15, 16, and 17-year olds are competing with the best of them.

3. I love summer for so many reasons. One of the many includes baseball. I grew up watching baseball, and although many find it a boring sport to watch, I love it. Although I live here, The Nationals aren’t my favorite team, my Chicago White Sox are. The Nationals are giving me reasons to like them more though; hello, Bryce Harper!

4. I loved the July issue of Runner’s World Magazine. Not only did it have a bunch of great tips, but the featured article was about Peter Sagal! For those of you who don’t know, Peter Sagal is the host of NPR’s weekly news show Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me. Unbeknownst to me, Sagal is a marathoner. Not just any marathoner, though. He ran Boston in 3:20! That’s so impressive. The article discussed something I’m really scared of: losing his running mojo. Yes, he eventually got it back, but the story focused on the trials and tribulations he underwent while training for another marathon with limited motivation.

5. Last but not least, we’ll discuss something kind of scary for me. I went to the dentist this morning for a usual cleaning as well as a check-up on my wisdom teeth. I have four, and they are all causing me problems. The bottom two are actually growing sideways, headed toward a nerve in my jaw! I’ll likely need oral surgery, but that comes with possible and permanent consequences to that nerve. AHH!

Big TV night tonight- Cake Boss! I’m trying to lay low since I’ll have a busy day babysitting tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

