Books

Between The Lines

Yesterday afternoon, I finished Jodi Picoult’s Between the Lines. Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors, so when I heard she penned a Young Adult novel with her daughter, I knew I had to read it. I went into it knowing it would be a different kind of novel than she typically writes, but I wanted to give it a try.

The cool thing about this book is that Picoult’s daughter, Samantha Van Leer, actually came up with the idea for the book. It’s the story of a teenage girl, Delilah, who becomes obsessed with a childrens’ fairy tale. Why does she become obsessed? Well, for the obvious reasons we are drawn to fairy tales: a prince and princess, and a happy ending. But for Delilah, the characters come to life; namely, Prince Oliver. Oliver speaks to her and tells her he wants out of the book. Delilah develops a major crush on Oliver and decides she wants to help him. The two claim to be in love.

Of course, when a teenage girl becomes so obsessed with a fairy tale, it is cause for concern. Delilah’s mother takes her to therapy because she believes her to be depressed. Delilah complies, unwillingly.

The book captures current teen pop culture so well, something Picoult typically does so well. Likely, her daughter aided in that knowledge as well. Delilah’s character is also incredibly relatable. She is a self-described loner, hated by the popular girls. That story line is slightly cliche, but it worked here.

The idea of books coming to life is so interesting, and something that hits close to home with a book nerd like me. When I get really into a book, I become slightly obsessed with its characters and story lines, and often put myself into the story for fun. Delilah spends much of her time searching for someone who believes her, all she had to do was find me!

My only real “complaint” about this novel is that the story line seemed almost too good to be true. Picoult’s novels do not always end happily; and while this novel does have a surprise ending, most parties end up faring pretty well. I suppose this has something to do with the fact the novel is geared more toward Young Adults searching for that happy ending.

Other than that minor complaint, I really enjoyed the novel. It was a quick read, and even included a few illustrations. Picoult kept to her usual writing style, with different characters taking turns telling the story from their perspective. This style is one of the things that sets Picoult’s novels apart from others, and a reason I enjoy her novels so much.

As I may have mentioned, I purchased this book and read it on my Kindle. I had recently found my Kindle, and wanted to read something on it again. Unfortunately, I wish I had the physical version of this book, I might have enjoyed the illustrations more.

If I can stay on track, I’ll try to dedicate book reviews to Wednesdays. Happy Fourth of July

By the way…check out Google today. The letters spell out “This land was made for you and me.” So cute!

Leave a Reply

