Lunch / Running

The House Love Built

It’s been a busy morning around here! As part of my half-marathon training plan, I completed a shorter run on the treadmill this morning. I was planning to run outside, but was scared of the impending rain so opted to stay inside. Of course, it never actually rained. Sigh.

After reading the paper and eating breakfast, I went to get some coffee. I decided to switch things up and get soymilk instead of skim milk and I’m definitely a fan. It’s the little things! When I got back from Starbucks, I took Pippa on a walk where she was greeted as Pippa Middleton! Apparently, we live with a royal puppy.

I had to get back relatively quickly because I had plans to visit the local Ronald McDonald House for a house tour. I’ve been wanting to volunteer there for a while, so I  made an appointment the other day. My sorority’s philanthropy work is dedicated toward Ronald McDonald House, so I’m excited to be involved in RMH even while home from school.

Ronald McDonald House charities houses families while their sick children are in the hospital. Most are located within walking distance of hospitals and allow the families a “home away from home.” They have kitchens, living areas, and bedrooms so the families can live comfortably and nearby their children. Volunteers help clean the houses, cook meals, and participate in Ronald McDonald House- sponsored activities.

The house was really nice! It was recently renovated complete with a brand new kitchen and laundry room with updated appliances. I’ve visited the Ronald McDonald House near Virginia Tech in Roanoke; and although it isn’t quite as updated, it’s much larger and houses double the families the Northern Virginia one can hold.

I’m not quite sure what I’ll be doing at my local house, but I gather it will be similar to what my sorority sisters and I did in Roanoke (cooking dinner, making crafts). I can’t wait to be actively involved in my community.

Once I arrived home, I made myself a salad with a recipe I’ve been meaning to use for a while! It was super easy. This morning, I combined a 6 oz. can of light tuna with a little less than 1/2 a can of chickpeas, and a couple tablespoons of parmesan cheese. I let the mixture hang out in the fridge during my morning activities. Then, I threw it on top a spring mix of lettuce with grape tomatoes. Topped with red wine vinegar dressing, it was ready to go!

I’m also obsessed with my new Tervis tumbler.

I also had an extremely messy peach. I’ve missed them!

As for the rest of the afternoon, I’m headed to Barnes & Noble to browse some more books. It’s supposed to rain, so I figured spending the rainy afternoon reading was so poetic.

Leave a Reply

