Uncategorized

Me: A to Z

This will look familiar. Prior to writing my grandpa’s eulogy, I created an A to Z post for myself. I found this post on one of the blogs I frequent quite a bit, Carrots ‘n Cake. I thought it was a cool idea!

A – Alpha Delta Pi. Although I’ve only been an initiated member for a short period of time, (January 2012) my sorority has been and I can see how it will continue to be a huge impact on my present and future life. It’s also brought me closer to my mom, also an initiated sister.

B – Bananas. I eat a banana (or two) every day without fail. The first usually follows my morning run, and the second comes in the afternoon.

C – Coffee. Does this one need an explanation? Coffee makes its way into my life every morning, and occasionally in the afternoon (though I’m trying to cut back).

D – Daily. I like daily routines. I find myself doing a lot of the same things during the day, sometimes on autopilot. I think routines are a way for me to keep sane, and knowing what to expect is comforting. Can you tell I’m not a huge fan of spontaneity?

E – Exercise. So, this one’s pretty lame (and obvious) but I actually was midway through this post and realized I hadn’t mentioned running! Having already used the “R” spot, I’ll group any and all kinds of exercise here. Exercise boosts my mood, and we all know a healthy lifestyle is the best way to live happy. Running is my favorite type, of course, and I look forward to upcoming races and meeting future goals.

F – Frozen yogurt. It seems like something so superficial; but honestly, what’s better than all those great flavors and toppings? Better, I’m always in the mood for it.

G – Green. Specifically lime green, my favorite color.

H – Hugs. I’m not the first one to usually go in for a hug, but I think hugs are a great way to show affection.

I – iPhone, iPad, iPod. Yep, I’m an Apple/technology junkie and proud of it.

J – Journalism. I was heavily involved in my school’s newspaper throughout high school and hope to make a living out of writing and reporting.

K – Kane. Okay, so I struggled with this one, too. For years, my mom and I have listened to The Kane Show in the mornings on our local radio station, Hot 99.5. I used to listen to it on the way to school, now I just listen when I’m getting ready and on iHeartRadio when I’m at school. Kane, Sarah, and Sammy are a hilarious team, and make me want to pursue a radio career.

L – Logs. As a typical Type-A personality, I keep logs of just about everything. I believe running to be such a Type-A sport, considering logging weekly mileage is vital to training. Other than exercise, I keep track of books I’m reading. Of course, blogging is essentially a log of my life.

M – Marathon. One day, I look forward to completing the runner’s ultimate goal: a marathon. My dad is my inspiration on this one.

N – Nike. I hate to say it, but I’m completely a brand person. I love all of Nike’s clothing, especially their running shorts (which I have far too many of). I’ve also recently discovered their Dri-Fit shirts, which are awesome.

O – Oak Park, Illinois. I grew up in this suburb outside of Chicago, and I think it was (and still is) the best place to grow up. The culture and people have made me who I am today. I hope to go back one day!

P – Penny. Penny is my first dog, we got her when I was 7. She’s watched me grow up, and I’ve watched her. If she could talk, she’d have a whole lot to say.

Q – Quotes. A couple years ago, I began keeping a spiral notebook to write down inspirational quotes. I love them! Writing this now, I’m realizing I should probably update it.

R – Reading. As you well know, I’m an avid reader and almost always have a book on hand should I have some free time. Although I read my textbooks for school, I’m a firm believer in keeping up with the latest novels and bestsellers. Reading is a great stress reliever and it allows a fantastic escape from daily life. Not to mention, I think it’s also improved my vocabulary (I’ve been playing Bananagrams).

S – Starbucks. Yes, I’m aware I already mentioned coffee. I love Starbucks not only for its drinks, but having read a few books on the company, I’ve begun to appreciate it that much more. I would love to visit Seattle and visit the first store at Pike Place Market.

T – Taylor Swift. You weren’t aware of my Taylor Swift obsession? Well, now you know. I’ve been a fan since her first CD, and haven’t stopped. She is a huge inspiration, and seems so down to earth. I think her and I would make the best of friends! I’ve seen her in concert a few times, and am  just waiting for her to make more music. I know she’s got a fair share of haters (the ex-boyfriends she sings about?) but I will always support her.

U – Up. I really had a tough time with this one. The best I can think of? The Disney movie, Up. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and quote that dog for the rest of your life. The “Cone of Shame” is a phrase we use quite often around this house.

V – Virginia Tech. I love my school and all the opportunities it has given me so far, and all the opportunities it will give me in the future. I’m a Hokie for life!

W – Waking up. Everyone says “waking up is hard to do.” Me? I love that time in the morning right when I wake up. It allows me to plan my day and stretch.

X – Can this one symbolize me crossing things out on my To-Do list? That’s one of my favorite feelings. And, yes, I am a list-maker.

Y – Yogurt. Once you go Chobani, you never go back.

Z – ZZZZ… creative, huh? I always get between 7 and 8 hours a night.

One thought on “Me: A to Z

  1. So true! Once you go CHO, you can never go back to regular yogurt. What’s your favorite flavor? We’d love to send some flavors your way…so shoot me an email at amy.keefe[at]chobani dot com!

    Amy
    Chobani

Leave a Reply

