Babysitting

Friday refocus

What a horrible tragedy to wake up to. When I woke up bright and early to complete my training workout for this morning, I flipped on the news and learned of the Colorado shooting massacre at The Dark Knight premiere. As the morning wore on, I followed continuing coverage of what is now the largest shooting massacre in U.S. history. Events like this force many questions, but also remind us how quickly things can happen, and the consequences of those things.

12 lives were lost this morning, 59 lives were injured, and countless others will suffer hurt and pain that goes far beyond the physical pain the victims will suffer. Many of the victims were my age, teenagers venturing out at midnight to see one of the most anticipated films of the summer. Now, they won’t remember a movie, they’ll remember the shooting that took place during their movie.

My heart goes out to all the victims and their families. I hope they can find peace at such a time of tragedy, one I can somewhat understand, having just experienced my own loss.

Anyway, let’s get back to today. It was back to babysitting for me, I think I needed to get back into the swing of things. It was a busy day! After stopping off at Starbucks on my way there, I hung out with the kids for a while until I decided today would be a perfect movie day. The forecast called for thunderstorms all day. To me, a rainy day calls for popcorn and movies. Am I right?

I’d actually been waiting for this week to arrive, so we could see Ice Age 4: Continental Drift. It’s not like I was dying to see the movie, but I enjoyed the first, and knew it would be right up their alleys. So, we planned to see the 2:10 showing of the movie at a local theater. We arrived a few minutes early, and took our seats. It was a little weird, though. Everyone else had also arrived early, and the movie had started early. Thinking it was one of those funky commercials, we ignored it and stayed put.

An hour later, the movie was over! At that point, I figured it was either the quickest movie ever, or we were in the wrong theater. The kids were confused, too. When we walked out of the theater, we realized we had walked into the 1:25 showing of the movie, the theater right next to the one we were supposed to be in! Oops! We walked in the theater we were supposed to be in, but we had already seen the part it was playing. It’s the ending that matters, right?

I felt absolutely awful about this mistake. We laughed it off, but I couldn’t believe I had made such a mistake. I even had my glasses on, so I couldn’t blame my blindness! We went to Starbucks after for a much needed pick-me-up.

Tall soy latte.

Once we arrived home, we made Snickerpoodle dog treats!

Hello, Instagram picture.

Both my dogs thoroughly enjoyed these treats, and they made the house smell yummy, just like actual snickerdoodles. Here’s the recipe:

Snickerpoodles

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 3/4 cup white flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

  1. Mix vegetable oil, shortening, and eggs. Add honey, flour, cream of tartar, and baking powder.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix cornmeal and cinnamon.
  3. Roll dough into balls, then roll in cornmeal and cinnamon mixture.
  4. Placed on greased baking pan and bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.
  5. Store, or feed to dog!

Warning: this recipe makes A LOT of dog treats. So, hopefully, you have a hungry dog on your hands.

Back to the “refocus” title of this post. Today, I spent a lot of time making lists. After coming home from being away for a couple days, I needed to refocus my life. I started with some major blogging planning, vacation planning, and training planning. For me, lists are a way of getting all those crazy thoughts running around my head straight.

I’m spending this stormy evening with my sister! Looking forward to an exciting weekend at the Jersey Shore with my best friend.

Leave a Reply

