Travel / Workout

Friends for the long haul

By the time you read this, I’ll be well on my way to the Jersey Shore to visit my very best friend, Vivi. We’ve known each other since we were in fourth grade! We weren’t really friends, though. Let’s back up.

Hey, throwback. This picture is circa…2010? Not quite sure. I’ll have you know I bought Vivi that hat one year for Christmas and she got some great use out of it.

When I arrived in Morristown, New Jersey at 9 years old, I was a totally different person. I was quiet, shy, and devastated that my life was seemingly ending as a result of my move. Little did I know then, my two moves were the best thing that happened to me. As harsh as it was, it forced me to put myself out there. In forcing myself out of shyness, I actually re-discovered myself and learned a whole lot about other people and different areas of the country. I am actually GLAD I moved.

Back to Vivi. I became friends with one of her best friends, Emily, and I think Vivi got a little jealous (ha, ha). Needless to say, we didn’t talk much then. Girls can be rough, as I quickly learned. We actually began talking more after I moved to Virginia, only two years later. We texted (and still do) every day, almost nonstop. It’s really cool to say that  one of my best friends lives hundreds of miles away.

Our friendship is different than most, because it has literally stood the test of distance. This is probably why I believe long-distance relationships can work; but only with the right people who are willing to make those friendships work.

When you look at us, Vivi and I honestly could not be more different. Yet, we have so many similarities. It’s a great balance. Alright, I think I’m done with my love story about Viv and I. I’ll stop myself before it starts to get weird.

Needless to say, after the week I had, a visit to my best friend was necessary. At this point, we try to see each other at least once a year. I was actually worried I wouldn’t be able to see her this year since we both went off to college (we both went about four hours away from our homes, making us even further away from one another!). I’m so glad it’s looking like a visit will work out!

I have a LSD run on the agenda for tomorrow. No, LSD does not stand for what you’re thinking. It denotes “Long Slow Distance” in running lingo. This means that I’ll be working on building up my endurance, and will slow down my pace to a conversational pace. On a typical day, I’ll run sub-8 minute miles. Tomorrow, I’m supposed to aim for about 9 to 9:30- minute miles. I’m nervous. I’ve never run 7 miles before. I’ve really been surprising myself during training thus far, so hopefully tomorrow is no different.

My long run will be rewarded by a weekend on the beach! 🙂

Is it bad that I’m secretly hoping I run into the Jersey Shore crew? Pregnant Snooki and all?

Leave a Reply

