Babysitting / Crafts / Recipes / Running

Modpodge, clothespins galore

Before I divulge my latest crafting endeavors, I NEED to tell you about my dinner last night inspired by Peas and Crayons. 

Roasted Chickpea Taco Salad!

After a day of babysitting, this meal was super easy to prepare. I prepped the chickpeas just like Peas and Crayons (click the recipe link for the original). I preheated the oven to 400 degrees, placed the chickpeas on a cookie sheet, and sprinkled them with garlic, cumin, cayenne, salt, and pepper. The chickpeas hung out in the oven for about 30 minutes. For the last 10 minutes, I added a sliced up corn tortilla for tortilla strips. To prepare the salad, I used a mix of romaine and spinach. Then, I added pepper jack cheese, tomatoes, and green onions. For my “dressing” I used Wegmans’ Peach Mango salsa (my new favorite!) and some sour cream mixed with taco seasoning. If you’ve never mixed sour cream with taco seasoning, I highly suggest you do so!

My salad was enjoyed while I caught up on last night’s episode of Teen Mom. Can’t get enough of my trash reality TV!

On to crafting…after a day of scrapbooking yesterday, crafting mode continued. Today, we painted and bejeweled clothespins to mock those made at Papersource. We’re thinking fancy chip clips or super huge paperclips? Who cares what we use them for, they’re so cute!

I also made my first friendship bracelet using a wheel. It was kind of confusing for me at first, but once I got into a little routine of which strings to pull, I was a speed racer. For those of you unfamiliar with the wheel, check out the kids’ crafting section at Michael’s. All your questions will be answered.

I plan on making another utilizing maroon and orange strings. I’m all about the school spirit!

During our stop at Michael’s this morning, I picked up some items for a crafting project of my own, inspired by Pinterest. I’m a little behind the times, as I just discovered the Instacollage iPhone app yesterday. I’ve been using Instagram almost daily, so imagine my happiness upon finding Instacollage! Using the app, I created a collage using the Instagram photos from last weekend’s mini trip to Point Pleasant.

Instacollage Photo Canvases

All it takes is a 4×4 canvas, ($2.99 at Michael’s!) Mod Podge, and a printed Instagram photo!

I simply e-mailed the Instacollage photo to myself and copy-pasted it into Microsoft Word. If you haven’t used Mod Podge before, never fear. It’s basically a glue and a glaze in one. So, paint a bunch directly on to the canvas and place the printed picture on top. Then, coat the picture with a layer of Mod Podge. It will look streaky for about an hour, but will dry.

I was really eager to do this, so I recommend waiting about 15 minutes for the ink to dry. Mine was a little runny. Other than that, I think it turned out great!

I plan on sending this to Vivi tomorrow morning. I was planning on sending her a copy of the photo booth photo from the arcade, but when I saw this, I thought I’d incorporate a bunch of our memories for the weekend! Yay for Pinterest-inspired crafts 🙂

Training update: 

So far, so good. Drinking more water than ever before (thank you, Tervis tumbler!). Tomorrow marks another long run, 8 miles. I’m slightly nervous, so I took it easy on the workout today. I’ve been feeling a little sore, so I’m trying to take it easy on my off days. More updates on training in a later post!

Leave a Reply

