Running / Travel / Workout

Rough trip home

Good morning! After a grueling journey home from New York City, I’m back home. Grueling doesn’t even begin to describe it. After walking all over the city Friday evening and Saturday, my mom and I sat down on the 9:05 train more than ready to go home and get some rest. Not so, though.

Unfortunately, Amtrak trains are not so conducive to a comfortable sleeping position, so sleep was pretty much out of the question. What to do? My goal was to finish my book, Maine. I did, and the book review will be posted later this week. After that, I read some trashy magazines and listened to my iPod while trying to doze off. Everything was going well…until the announcer came on the loudspeaker with an announcement.

Power outages on the track. We were stuck in Philadelphia until whenever they were finished fixing the tracks. Okay, it was only about 10:30 at this point, so worry didn’t set in. We sprawled out in separate rows, (the train wasn’t full at all) only to soon be sitting back in our original seats. The train that left an hour before us was also stopped, so Amtrak decided to consolidate and put EVERYONE on our train. With all that commotion, it was even more impossible to sleep.

Needless to say, my mom and I were huge crankmonsters when we arrived home at nearly 3 A.M. this morning. I have no idea how I woke up at my usual time, I just couldn’t sleep any longer. I’m sincerely hoping it doesn’t catch up to me later today at work, or worse, when I’m babysitting tomorrow. Anyway, I thought I’d hop on the productivity train this morning (pun intended) and get some work done.

It always feels weird being away from blogging, even if it’s only for a day. My laptop and all my social media networks are almost as essential as coffee to me. So this morning, I decided to switch it up and head to Caribou Coffee to get some work done. I was having a craving for their almond iced coffee, although I was secretly hoping they may be hiding away a coconut flavor. Much to my disappointment, they’re not. Guess I’ll have to head back up to Point Pleasant for that!

I went on a short “stretch-out” run this morning. These are becoming my favorite. I don’t worry about speed, more about form. Thank goodness, because today I was incredibly sore…likely from the combination of Friday’s long run and the weekend of walking up and down city streets.

I’m in the process of writing my trip recaps, so look forward to those! For now, enjoy a photo of my newest Olympiad crush, 18-year old British swimmer, Tom Daley. I saw him during the opening ceremonies, and it was love at first site. Step aside, Ryan Lochte!

Leave a Reply

