Running / Travel

Whirlwind trip pt. 1

Hmm…so let’ s back up a bit, shall we? I geared up for my long run bright and early Friday morning, in hopes of avoiding the heat. Thursday, I made sure to drink a TON of water in order to stay hydrated. The run went surprisingly well! I had a couple Sport Beans right around mile 5, (I’m thinking of starting to try honey packets instead, Sport Beans are gross) and was never dying for water. I’m definitely thinking I’ll start bringing water bottles along with me as the distances increase. I definitely felt sore for the rest of the day, but I knew the amount of walking I was about to do would be good for that. 8 miles = accomplished.

Like I said, mom and I hit the road for the train station at about 9 A.M. Friday morning. We should have known it was going to be a rough trip, simply based on the events preceding our departure! We severely underestimated the amount of time it would take us to ride the Metro down to the train station, meaning we arrived at the train station just about 20 minutes before our train departed.

Luckily, traveling by train requires none of the crazy security checks like the airport, you can basically walk right on to the train. Had I not deprived myself of coffee that morning in hopes of a relaxing wait at the train station, we might have gotten on the train with more than two minutes to spare. After waiting in line for my coffee, we literally ran to our train’s tracks, found seats, and the train left at 10:20 on the dot. We can do it all!

Understand, we really had no plans as to what we were to do for the rest of the day. We were interested in going to Central Park for Shakespeare theater, where they were performing Into The Woods. Unfortunately, we didn’t get tickets. So, wandering we went!

When we arrived at Penn Station, mission #1 was to find lunch. That task completed, we decided to walk over to the hotel and drop off our bags. Again, we underestimated the distance from Penn Station to our hotel and arrived sweaty, hot messes. But, we arrived just the same. After a little bit of refreshing, we decided to hit up our favorite stops.

Stop #1 was Rockefeller Plaza, where my beloved Today show is filmed. I was hoping to find a Today show coffee mug, but had no such luck. We visited a cute little farmer’s market…

noted some words of wisdom…

and took pictures while standing in the middle of the street. Hey, it was a cool view!

After some shopping, we walked over to Dos Caminos, a restaurant my dad recommended. We loved it! It had outdoor seating, so we even got to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city while enjoying our meal (more on what we ate in WIAW :)).

What better way to wrap up an afternoon in the city than venturing out into Times Square at night? We couldn’t think of a better thing to do. New York is an amazing place, and Times Square was as crowded as ever! We enjoyed taking pictures in American Eagle which were shown up on the big screen outside, and taking pictures of ourselves with a camera at Starbucks. Guess that’s the new cool thing to do, huh?

I also took a picture with a REALLY creepy-looking Mickey, and he made me do a weird pose. It was…interesting. We also became fake starstruck when a young man claiming to be in the newest Spiderman movie walked around with a bodyguard, paparazzi, and publicity managers. I’ve already decided that I’m going to pull this stunt next time, because people actually fall for it! (including us). Last but not least, we enjoyed some quality street entertainment and frozen yogurt on our walk back.

We were sufficiently exhausted when we arrived back at the hotel, but stayed awake for a little while longer so we could see the U.S. in the Olympic opening ceremonies. After making about five calls to housekeeping to bring us toothpaste we forgot, we were both passed out asleep. And I must have slept well, because that next morning, I woke up in the same position I fell asleep in.

Leave a Reply

