WIAW

WIAW: New York City edition

Now that you’re all updated on the events of this past weekend, let’s discuss my eats! I had a lot of fun participating in Peas and Crayons’ last WIAW, so I decided to participate again! Here’s some of what I ate while away in the Big Apple! Oh, and happy August, by the way! It sure snuck up on me!

Breakfast

Breakfast was conveniently located at the hotel. I opted for oatmeal and a banana. I also ordered a side of peanut butter to mix into my oatmeal. It’s my latest obsession. Mom calls the combinations of food I eat unconventional, I call them delicious. The banana was eaten later in the morning at the conference when hunger struck.

A grande sweetened soy iced coffee and almonds to snack on from Starbucks.

Lunch

Free Chipotle burrito at the conference! We had the choice between veggie and chicken. In hopes of finding fajita vegetables, I opted for veggie. No such luck. But, I did get guacamole in addition to black beans, rice, tomato salsa, sour cream, and cheese, so I was a happy camper. I ate at all, and a bunch of chips with the medium salsa. Chipotle never fails to disappoint.

Snack

Free PopChips from the conference. PopChips was one of the many sponsors, and brought along a wide variety of chip flavors I’ve never seen before. I chose the sweet potato, so good!

Dinner

My favorite meal of the trip, dinner at Dos Caminos. After starting off with chips, three different flavors of salsa and house-made guacamole, I had the La Flaca tacos. It was three lettuce-wrapped tacos with black beans, sesame seared tuna, and a hot papaya salsa. It was spicy! Since we both got tacos, mom and I shared black beans and rice that came with both of our tacos. We are still obsessing over how good it was.

Dessert

Fro yo in Times Square! I opted for Oreo Mint, covered in sprinkles. Rainbow sprinkles seriously make everything better! Had it not been so hot, I might have eaten it slower to enjoy it. That’s the only downside of ice cream: melting.

Well, that wraps up this WIAW! Check out Peas and Crayons to see what my fellow bloggers are eating!

And…since I wrote this post prior to learning August’s theme, I’m adding an Instacollage picture of some of my latest favorite summer staples! During the summer, I loveee cold food (not unlike most people). That means Chobani bowls for breakfast, tons of citrusy fruit, and, of course, frozen yogurt (pile on the sprinkles and coconut please!). Oh, and I fill my 24 oz. Tervis tumbler AT LEAST three times a  day to keep well-hydrated for training!

Fun fact: I posted the top left photo of yesterday’s breakfast to Instagram and the Chobani Instagram account liked it! It’s the little things 🙂 Hope your week is shaping up well, I’ve been loving curling up on the couch after a day of babysitting to watch the Olympics!

5 thoughts on “WIAW: New York City edition

Leave a Reply

