Books

Maine

I figured it was high-time to post this, considering I’m almost finished with my next book!

On the train ride home last Saturday evening, I finished J. Courtney Sullivan’s Maine. I’m not sure if it has something to do with busy-ness or lack of interest, but I have had a difficult time getting through books lately. I’ll be really into them at the beginning, lose it somewhere in the middle, but then be into it again by the end. It’s unfortunate, I like reading books and loving them all the way through.

In my opinion, I had trouble getting through the middle of this book because it was just a little long and boring. The book basically outlines an entire family dynamic through their summer home in Maine. The

Just like most families, the Kellehers have their fair share of problems. Readers learn from the very beginning that each member is completely different and lives an opposite lifestyle to the others. The story is told from different characters’ points of view, starting and ending with the matriarch of the family, Alice. I liked that.

I always love stories with difficult relationships, because they allow me to learn more about the dynamics of the relationships we have with others. In the novel, three generations of the family arrive at the family home where Alice lives full-time. Anne Marie is the country-clubbing, suburban wife, in the family by marriage. Maggie is one of Alice’s grandchildren, 32 and pregnant by a boyfriend who could care less. Then, there’s the crude Alice, used to living hidden away in the cottage following her husband’s death. When Maggie and Anne Marie’s trips to the summer home collide, trouble brews.

Alice’s isolation is rooted in the event of one night during her teenage years, she is haunted  by the guilt, and channels her frustration into a vegetable garden in her front yard.

Each family member has their own fair share of issues, so it’s obvious why issues occur when they are all put together under one roof.

I highlighted a bunch of quotes I liked from the book that resonated with me, so here’s just a few:

“There was an elasticity to their bond. Its limits were often stretched beyond comfort, but it always returned, unbroken.”

“No, in the end, it was only women; in the end, just sisters.”

“She would never understand why logic couldn’t conquer something as simple and commonplace as love.”

My verdict? Go out and read it! I suggest finding a sunny beach and just chugging along. I think it’s one of those perfect books to read on the beach with no outside distractions.

Leave a Reply

