Running / Workout

Fueling for long runs

Happy Tuesday! 6 AM run and done 🙂 Off to babysit! My burning question for today….

Okay, so I’ve been upping my distance by increasing my long run mileage by one mile each week. This seems to be the recommended increase, and it’s definitely been tough.

I’ve had a hard time coming to terms with the fact that my long runs will be slower than my usual sub-8-minute pace for shorter distances. It’s also been difficult for me as far as fuel. While I’ve always been a huge water drinker, (my trips to the bathroom are very frequent throughout the day) I’ve struggled with deciding on a good choice for fuel on long run days.

Everyone’s got their something, so I need to find what works for me! My dad’s big on the goo, but I’ve heard and seen so many other options. Clif Shot Bloks? Honey? Dried fruit? I guess I’ll just need to find something I can easily digest while running.

During shorter races, I won’t drink any water. I’ve actually failed miserably at retrieving and successfully drinking from those dinky paper cups, despite my best efforts to learn “the correct way.” I’m hoping that using a Camelbak straw will force the water down, haha. In the next couple weeks, I’ll test out a bunch of different fuels so that by the time the half marathon rolls around, I’ll know what to do.

I’m also starting to eat protein/granola bars more often to subside my 24/7 hunger. The experts aren’t kidding when they say training will have you eating around the clock! I’ve been wanting to try Kit’s Organic bars by Clif (mostly because I know they have a Chocolate Almond Coconut flavor…) and recently bought gnu energy bars to try. I’m a huge fan of LUNA bars (Oatmeal Raisin Cookie!) but I’ve been wanting to try out new stuff.

What do you use to fuel for long runs? 

Have any yummy carb-filled recipes?

Leave a Reply

