Breakfast / Dinner / Lunch / Recipes / Uncategorized / WIAW / Workout

WIAW #3

Yay for another sweaty morning 5-miler! WIAW has quickly become one of my favorite blogging days, because it’s…

Lately, my meals have been going right along with this month’s “Summer Staples” theme. I’ve been pretty boring and sticking with the same meal for breakfast, and similar meals for lunch and dinner (LOTS of salads).

My favorite breakfast? A cereal, fruit, and greek yogurt parfait. Lately, I’ve been into adding graham cracker crumbs and honey to the top!

This one is one of my favorite combinations! Peaches and blueberries and Multigrain Puffins. I’ve been loving summer fruits like peaches, nectarines, and plums.

I tried to get a close-up of the honey, but it was a fail. It’s the perfect sweetener for plain Chobani!

Next up is lunch! I’ve been making various salad recipes I’ve found. I brought this one to babysitting this past Friday. I wanted to make sure I got lots of protein that day, so I subbed mayo for plain Chobani in this chicken salad!

Ingredients:

How’s that for a step-by-step guide?! I topped a spring mix with carrots and grape tomatoes with the chicken salad. This was the first time I added paprika to a chicken salad mix, and I’m not going back!

Snacking…occurs every day, usually multiple times, and usually in similar forms. This means lots of Greek yogurt, fruit, and my new favorite discovery: Chocolate Cookie Dough LARAbars. So good, they actually taste like you’re eating cookie batter straight from the bowl. They’ll do for a substitute, I suppose!

Given the choice of granola bar, I choose LARAbars, hands down. I’m completely overwhelmed whenever I walk into the granola bar aisle at the grocery store.

Dinner

Dinner last night was one of our go-to family staples, all year-round: homemade pizzas! We were planning on picking up ready-made pizzas from Whole Foods as part of their Tuesday BOGO large pizza deal, but we had no such luck. Good thing we had everything for pizza at home! We all like to get a little creative with our pizzas, so I made a Mexican-style pizza with salsa, tomatoes, green peppers, red onions, and a Mexican blend of cheese. Photos from start to finish:

In hindsight, I might have taken a picture of my empty plate!

I always need something sweet before bed. My desserts have been pretty much the same, but with different variations. The best surprise was coming home from work to SweetFrog from my parents in the freezer! Yum. Anyway, dessert includes a couple scoops of Justin’s Chocolate Almond Butter or Earth Balance’s Coconut Peanut Butter spread with lots of shredded coconut, and fruit (whatever I find).

Here’s a peach combo! I put it in a smaller, cute bowl, but it was overflowing. I usually put it in a coffee cup.

On to the fitness part of WIAW…it includes lots of running in training for my half-marathon. I’m logging between 35 and 40 miles a week, with one long run typically on Fridays. This week is the big 10! Ahhh!!

That’s all for today! Check out Peas and Crayons to see what everyone else is up to!

3 thoughts on “WIAW #3

  1. Between the chicken salad, pizza & dessert I have no idea what looks more amazing!!! Ill just never understand how some people can go to bed w/o dessert. Even when I’m not hungry, I just “have” to eat something lol.

    Good luck on your 10 miler friday. I’m sure you’ll rock it 🙂

Leave a Reply

