Uncategorized

Headbands of Hope

A couple of days ago, I read about a company called Headbands of Hope via Katie‘s blog. Headbands of Hope is a company created by Jessica Ekstrom, a North Carolina State University alum. She created the company while a junior at NC State following an inspiring summer internship with the Make a Wish Foundation.

Jessica was touched by the young girls’ stories, and saddened by the fact that some of them may not be able to pull their hair back into a ponytail following losing it to cancer. It’s funny the simple things we take for granted, right?

So, Jessica decided to create headbands. Headbands, a simple accessory, yet somehow essential to our feminine identity. Jessica created her headbands in the hopes that she could give back to the young girls she met, and future girls. She hopes her headbands will make the young girls feel beautiful again, and I think she succeeded!

Jessica created  a whole bunch of different kind of headbands, so there’s something for everyone! My favorites are the Skinny Shabby and the Go Glitter. The Go Glitter headbands remind me of the BaniBands I purchased at the Run for the Dream expo; but cheaper, and for a much better cause.

I decided to go with the Maple View Skinny Shabby. It was a tough decision, there were so many I liked! I decided to go with a neutral color, so I could wear it with more clothing items. I also went with the kids’ size, only slightly smaller than the adult size. I have a super-small head, and figured the elastic would stretch, anyway.

For each headband purchased, $1 is donated to St. Baldricks Cancer Research Foundation. I love Jessica’s story, it both inspires and reminds me of all that can be done with one small idea.

There’s your daily inspiration! 🙂

One thought on “Headbands of Hope

  1. Hi Megan! This is Jessica, the founder of Headbands of Hope. Thank you so much for writing about me! You have a wonderful blog and a great heart 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    Jess

Leave a Reply

