Dinner

On-the-go meals

This post teams up with yesterday’s about my new job. Yay for meal planning!

When I first learned I’d have to do this, I dreaded not being able to make meals at home and eat with my family. It has, however, taught me to be a bit creative with my meals and taught me how to plan meals (this will definitely come in handy in a couple of months at school!).

This post will cover a bunch of my on-the-go dinner meals! You’ll notice that a lot of them are basically the same, I’ve just switched up the flavors. They’re delicious all the same! My first is a Chicken Caesar Pasta Salad.

I combined bowtie pasta with shredded chicken and Creamy Garlic Caesar dressing and stored it in a plastic container. In my salad bowl went chopped romaine lettuce, grape tomatoes, and parmesan cheese!

I liked this so much that I decided to make a different variation for another dinner. All I did was switch up the pasta, salad vegetables, and dressing! I love honey mustard dressing, so I decided to use that as well as use up the extra veggies we had in the fridge. So, here’s the Honey Mustard Chicken Pasta Salad!

And a little view of my dinner setting 🙂 With some light reading material, of course.

I’d love to utilize the microwave, so maybe some mac&cheese is in my future? Carbo-load me up!

Now for something totally different…Avocado Tuna Salad. I’ll admit, when I stumbled upon this recipe via Peas and Crayons, I was a little apprehensive. I love tuna, though, and knowing we had a near-rotting avocado in the fridge, this recipe was calling my name! And you know what? It was really, really good!

Here’s what I added:

  • 1 can of chunk light tuna
  • 1/2 chopped avocado
  • 1 tablespoon Plain Chobani
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

The original recipe calls for relish, and I added it, but I wouldn’t recommend it. The flavors just didn’t meld for me!

A variation of Peas and Crayons’ Mexican Chicken Chop Chop!

I added this dressing to cooked, chopped chicken breast:

  • 2 tablespoons Chobani plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. garlic
  • salt and pepper to paste
  • 1 tablespoon (or two) Wegman’s Organic Medium Salsa

Then, I chilled the chicken with the dressing and when I was ready to eat, I added it to chopped romaine, tomato, green onions, cheddar cheese, and black beans.

I love Southwestern flavors, so this one is definitely a keeper.

So, there’s my little on-the-go meal guide. It’s super easy to make simple and portable dinners, no need for fast food here! The best thing about these salads is that they’re kept cold, so you don’t even need a microwave. There’s nothing I love more than a little planning, so I know it will likely be fun for me to meal plan and grocery shop for myself when I’m living in an apartment at school.

2 thoughts on “On-the-go meals

Leave a Reply

