Breakfast / Workout

Marathon men & microwave muffins

I have a super yummy new recipe for you guys today! But first, let’s talk the Olympic marathon. I woke up bright and early to catch the last couple miles, and it was amazing! Stephen Kiprotich of Uganda took the lead right toward the end, winning the first-ever gold medal for the marathon in Ugandan history.

He didn’t even look phased, and his post-race interview evoked all the pride he felt for his country. There’s a couple things my dad and I noticed that we’re curious about…why do they wear watches? Are they using them to keep pace? Do they use any kind of energy goo/water/drinks to get through? To me, it looks like they’re simply running, none of this fancy stuff that we use.

Oh! An American came in fourth place, which is pretty awesome considering all the other runners involved. Two Americans didn’t finish, so I need to check out the details on that.

Now for my newest recipe! I ran a brisk 7 miles this morning. The weather was great, and although I had a shorter run originally planned, I was inspired by my newest favorite quote: “Go the extra mile” and decided to keep going. I love that quote; it can be applied to running and so much more.

Another fun fact…since I typically run sans-technology outside, I do a lot of thinking. I actually thought of today’s post title right around mile 4!

Here is my super easy breakfast (stolen from STUFTmama):

3-minute Banana Muffin

  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
  • 2 tablespoons egg substitute
  • 1 large banana
  • 1 splenda packet (I used truvia)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • splash of vanilla
  • cinnamon to taste

Spray a mug with nonstick cooking spray and mix all ingredients together.

Pop it in the microwave for 3 minutes (I kept an eye on it and took it out at about 2:50).

Done! It won’t rise as much as you think it will. Now, scoop it out, and top it with a topping of your choice. Naturally, I chose my coconut peanut butter.

So. Good.

I love banana bread, and this is great since it’s only a single serving! I can’t wait to try other variations from STUFTmama….pumpkin? Chocolate? The possibilities are endless.

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Sunday! I have a couple errands to run, including some new running sneaks! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Marathon men & microwave muffins

  1. oh these muffins sound and look delicious. thanks for sharing the recipe girl 🙂

    Oh I am so happy that Stephen Kiprotich won! I don’t know where he stored all his energy @ to take the lead so close the finsih line though haha. He was so awesome to watch!

Leave a Reply

