Uncategorized / WIAW

WIAW #4

Like I said last week, WIAW has easily become my favorite blogging day. It’s the day I try to impress all my readers with fancy meals (and pretty plates!). So, here’s what I ate yesterday. It was a productive day for me!


It was a little drizzly when I first woke up, but I really wanted to try out my new Garmin Forerunner 205, so I snuck in a run. Luckily, the rain never came back. Unluckily, the humidity stayed. Yuck! I took my Garmin out for a speedy 6-miler around the neighborhood. I kept a pretty decent pace, and it made me proud!

After my run, I was completely craving the microwave muffins I’ve been eating every morning since breakfast. The good thing is that each morning, I try to switch it up a bit. This morning, I decided to make it chocolate! It’s the same recipe, just with one tablespoon of Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder added in.

Topped with melty coconut peanut butter! I know it looks super un-appetizing, but it’s delicious. I may consider increasing the measurement of egg substitute to give the muffin a bit more moisture.

I had a couple of errands to run in the morning, and the muffin held me over until well past my normal lunch time. My purchases? A new waterbottle to hold while running and some Peanut Butter Gu we had a coupon for. I’m excited to use the waterbottle, it even has a little zipper pack to hold my Gu! Of course, I stopped to get my new favorite Starbucks drink: a Grande Soy Latte. Stupid me forgot my reusable cup! No cup discount for me today.

I drank that latte up so fast.

By the time I got back, I was ready for lunch. Leftovers it is! I made a big salad topped with chopped grilled chicken, white beans, red onion, and chopped red pepper. I also used Annie’s Balsamic Dressing.

White peach on the side.

After lunch, I had some planning and a Skype call for HerCampus. I think we’ve finally got a lot of things figured out for this semester. I can’t wait! Later in the afternoon, I made a new snack: PB2 cottage cheese on rice cakes! I simply combined 2 tablespoons PB2, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, and 1 truvia packet and let it hang out in the fridge for the afternoon. I topped a couple rice cakes with some of the spread, and ate the rest straight out of the bowl. If you’re a cottage cheese person, you’ll love!

I read a little bit more of my book, and then made dinner for my dad and I. Since I’m obsessed with coconut, I made coconut-crusted chicken breasts. Another super easy meal: 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs, salt and pepper. Dip the chicken breast in egg, then the mixture, and cook it up in a skillet! Served with steamed green beans and BBQ sauce!

It was a hit! I had some leftover, and am looking forward to eating it later this week!

Dessert. Dessert was good.

Just for me cookie + dark chocolate frosting. Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon nondairy milk
  • 1 tablespoon egg whites
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 truvia packets

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes! For the dark chocolate frosting, combine 2 tablespoons dark chocolate cocoa powder, 1 tablespoon maple syrup, and 1 tablespoon nondairy milk. Yum!! Definitely a keeper. And kudos to STUFTmama for thinking up the recipe!

The summer staples continue to be lots of salad, fresh fruit, fro-yo, and of course early morning runs to beat the heat! Head over to Peas and Crayons to see what my other friends are up to!

4 thoughts on “WIAW #4

  1. Everything looks so fresh and tasty! I hate holding things when I run, but a water bottle is probably a good idea to stay hydrated. Do your arms ever feel unbalanced?

    • Thank you! I didn’t used to bring them, but I need water on long runs! I find myself having to switch hands I’m holding it in…it’s difficult to get used to. It’s funny you should mention that, I actually have a slight shoulder muscle strain from holding it. It’s a bummer, but dehydration is no fun!

Leave a Reply

