Recipes / Workout

Chobani takeover and chocolate cravings

Oh geez…did I miss a day of blogging? I must have been too busy with this lovely package I got in the mail yesterday.

A couple weeks ago, the wonderful people at Chobani commented on my blog and offered to send me some free samples! I was so excited.

In the box: 6 (!!) 16 oz. containers of Chobani’s newest Vanilla Chocolate Chunk flavor and Chobani Plain. Fabulous! Obviously, I got to baking last night after going out to dinner with some of my friends. So, let’s get to the first CHOcolate recipe!

This recipe is adapted from one I found via Pinterest from No Sugar Sweet Life! Click that link to check out her other recipes. She’s my go-to for all recipes Chobani!

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (+ 3 tablespoons)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup Chobani Vanilla Chocolate Chunk
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in bowl.
  3. Combine wet ingredients in separate bowl (mash bananas in a separate bowl first).
  4. Combine wet and dry ingredients.
  5. Add mix to muffin cups (I used a 1/4 measuring cup).
  6. Bake for about 20-22 minutes.

The process in photos, because that’s how I roll.

Look who wanted to get in on the fun!

No muffins for you, Pippa!

Yes, I keep my laptop in an extremely dangerous place while baking.

Beautiful!

Next up…an easy 3-Ingredient Fudge from STUFTmama.

Here’s all you need:

  • 1 banana (frozen or thawed)
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons PB2
  1. Mash banana, add other ingredients.
  2. Freeze, or refrigerate.

It depends on what kind of consistency you want! I wanted more of a pudding because I had other plans after my EXPENSIVE trip to Whole Foods. That’s the last time I go to Whole Foods on a students’ budget. Chia seeds are expensive! As you can see in the picture above, I enjoyed mine with a deep chocolate Vitatop. My first try with Vitatops, and I am a HUGE fan. If they weren’t so pricey, I’d get them more often. Good thing I have three left until I leave next week 🙂

This dessert is seemingly sinful; but when you think about it, not that bad for you at all! I enjoyed it while watching TLC’s newest show, Here Comes Honey Boo Boo. Hilarious, disgusting, and embarrassing to watch all at the same time. Can’t get enough of the trashy TV.

On to this morning!! I was super nervous last night. Why? Today was my last long distance training run for the half marathon. I completed a little over 11 miles (11.41) as part of my plan. I feel great, and I kept a comfortable 7:56 pace. I hope to keep that pace come race day!

Before gearing up, I had a Clif Black Cherry Shot Blok for a quick boost.

Then I was off! I’ll save you the horror of the god-awful picture I took of myself. The weather was cool this morning, and I was happy considering I stupidly chose a black Dri-Fit top. I had a Clif Energy gel at around mile 6. It was my new favorite flavor, Mocha + caffeine. They’ve been messing with my stomach lately, so hopefully I’m okay the rest of the day.

When I got home, I was ready for more chocolate. Chocolate cravings are real, people. I decided to make something special today, since I have a new goal for myself. Lately, I’ve gotten some rough wake-up calls regarding money. I’ve realized I have some expensive habits, Starbucks included. I’m really trying to cut back my trips (that turned daily) in favor of some caffeine I can get right at home. Today, I made a mocha frappuccino!

I don’t remember my exact measurements, so I’ll give some rough estimates.

Mocha Frap-a-like

  • 3/4 cup vanilla coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 packet Starbucks Via instant iced coffee
  • 2 truvia packets
  • pinch of Xantham gum (for thickening)
  • crushed ice

Combine all ingredients in a blender. I also added a frozen banana, but that’s optional!

Enjoyed in my Tervis tumbler, of course!

Wow, this was a super-long post. I won’t bore you with my breakfast, (another new microwave muffin recipe) I’ll probably save it for tomorrow, ha ha. As far as the rest of today, I’ll be list-making in preparation for the big move next week!

Another Nats game on the agenda for tonight! We can’t get enough baseball around here.

Leave a Reply

