Breakfast / Recipes / Running / Weekend

Kitchen experimentation and packing woes

Well, I missed another blogging day. I sincerely hope this doesn’t become a habit, because even one day off makes me feel a bit off-kilter. For example: I am leaving on Thursday. What time did I wake up today so that I could start packing? Yup, 6 AM. Ridiculous. I know I have ample time to get started, but I woke up, went on a run, and started to make my signature “packing piles.” For some reason, I feel better when I create the packing piles…it gives me a sense of actually getting something done.

Needless to say, my usual, anxious self is back. I’d say the only good thing that’s come out of my packing and preparation anxiety has been my latest kitchen experimentation. So, I’ll get to it.

I’ll start with yesterday’s (and this morning’s) breakfast. And, since I can’t avoid the cheesy joke, I was seeing green.

Seriously, don’t knock it until you try it.

Green Eggs and Oats

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup egg substitute
  • handful of spinach
  • cinnamon to taste

First, use a blender (or my handy new Magic Bullet) to blend together the spinach and egg. Then, cook the oats regularly. Add in the eggs and spinach during the last couple minutes of cooking. Sprinkle on the cinnamon, and you’re good to go! I definitely suggest adding cinnamon, sweetener, or vanilla to this mix. It won’t taste like your typical oatmeal. I topped mine with blueberries and peanut butter, naturally.

I was planning on switching this up and making a pumpkin pie oatmeal this morning, but I have other plans for my canned pumpkin later. By tomorrow, it’ll be back to my lovely microwave muffins.

Next up is something much more appetizing to look at…

Yup, that was my dessert last night. No, it’s not ice cream out of the carton. Yes, it was way better than that.

CHO-Fro Yo

  • 1/2 cup Chobani or greek yogurt (I used Chobani Vanilla Chocolate Chunk)
  • 1/2 cup Cool Whip topping (I used Reddi-Whip, that’s what we had)
  • 1 tablespoon Jello pudding mix of choice
  • nuts, chocolate chips, nut butter (if desired)

Mix the pudding mix and yogurt, then fold in the Cool Whip and other toppings if adding. Freeze for 1-2 hours, no longer (or else it looks a little funky). After freezing, you should have an ice-cream like consistency! I’ve seen some recipes that add some extract flavoring, so I added it. I think I added a little much though, the Almond taste was a bit strong.

And, since I didn’t have enough chocolate, I made some dark chocolate frosting (2 tablespoons cocoa powder + 1 tablespoon sugar-free maple syrup + 1 tablespoon vanilla almond milk) and added rainbow sprinkles to the top. If you’re gonna go, why not go all out?

 

Yeah, I’ll definitely be making this more often. I enjoyed this while watching The Hunger Games with the family. We went out for a “Last Hoorah” family dinner before things get too crazy this week. We got a little weird and had a photo shoot in the parking lot of the restaurant. Love them!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kitchen experimentation and packing woes

Leave a Reply

