Breakfast / Recipes

What’s been making me smile

I’m going to make this post photo-heavy because I find myself pretty short on time during these last few days at home. Today was great. It was one of those days where all the little things made me smile and appreciate so much more.

This post was inspired by the book I’m reading by Katie Couric, The Best Advice I Ever Got. Per usual, I’ve been highlighting quotations I find particularly inspirational. Today, my favorite one was “everything you have is everything you need.” How great and true is that? We can do anything we want, because we already have all the resources. It’s using those resources wisely that’s important.

Anyway, here comes my photo bomb session. Ready?

Thing #1:

Coconut-flavored coffee syrup at Wegmans. Need I say more? I was browsing the Torani website the other day and I found a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Flavor. I am seriously considering purchasing it. That or Pumpkin Spice (my newest obsession).

Thing #2:

My green muffins have been coming out PERFECTLY! I am obsessed with them. I crave them every morning. In fact, I’m actually planning on making a lot of my breakfasts green. It’s so easy, and a great way to get my veggies in first thing. You honestly can’t even taste the spinach!

So…in case you’re curious:

Green Microwave Muffin

  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons rolled oats
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup egg substitute
  • handful of spinach
  • vanilla and cinnamon to taste
  1. Blend spinach and egg.
  2. Combine all other ingredients together in a coffee mug sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.
  3. Microwave for 5 minutes.
  4. Top with topping of choice…endless possibilities here!

If you’re skeptical, I’ve also tried adding chocolate chips to the mix. You CANNOT go wrong when you add chocolate, trust me.

Thing #3:

My new Maybooks planner arrived the other day! I immediately started filling out with my busy fall semester schedule. I love it, and will definitely order more planners/notebooks in the future. Not like I’m short on journals/notebooks/writing tools or anything. Ha.

Thing #4:

Babysitting. It makes me remember how great and simple it is to be a kid. No ice cream? No problem. We’ll just fill our waffle cone with chocolate syrup and sprinkles. So delicious and so NOT nutritious. You’re only young, once right? I’ll miss these kids while I’m at school!

Thing #5:

My empty peanut butter jar! Oh my goodness, I have been waiting for this day forever. I cannot wait to make oats in a jar tomorrow morning. Yum!

Thing #6:

 

Chobani‘s daily inspirational Instagrams. Nothing better.

Andd…..that’s about all that’s making me happy right now. Want to know why? Currently, I’m staring at this:

And that’s just about half of the stuff I’ll be lugging down to Blacksburg on Thursday. I’ll spare you the photo of my clothing piles. I’ve already packed two duffels of just workout clothes. Love it.

I’ll end this post on a happy note…tonight is my favorite trashy television night. Dance Moms and Teen Mom. WOO! I’m also waiting on some three-ingredient fudge in the fridge. Who says a little chocolate can’t cure packing woes?

P.S. Remember my post about the lovely Headbands of Hope headband I ordered a couple weeks ago? From now until September 1, you can order a headband and get free shipping in honor of Childhood Cancer Awareness month 🙂

Leave a Reply

