Recipes / Running / Workout

A case of the Mondays

I, for one, am SOO excited it’s October. I love flipping my calendar to the next month 🙂 I have a quotable calendar, so each month has an inspirational quote. This month’s is: “Most obstacles melt away when we make up our minds to walk boldly through them” from Orison Swett Marden. Fitting for this weekend, no?

Anyone having a case of the Mondays yet? It’s always tough to begin a new week of work and school. I have a busy week ahead of me, since it’s my sorority’s philanthropy week! Yay for Safari Hunt!

So much time and effort has gone into planning this week, so I hope it’s a ROARing success! (That was soo cheesy). Anyway, my Mondays are always made better after a good workout, a hot cup of coffee (pumpkin spice + Truvia today), and a delicious new fall-inspired recipe!

I made these overnight oats yesterday, using the last bit of my free Chobani. I’m so sad it’s all gone. I’ve heard Chobani made something called Flips? With Chobani on one side and fruit on the other? I’m so intrigued!

Anyway…back to the oats. I was searching for pumpkin butter the other day at the store, but only found apple butter. I figured that was fall-ish enough, so I picked it up! It’s actually really good, and super cinnamon-y. It’s a lot like applesauce, just more spreadable. SOooo…I made apple butter overnight oats! I will DEFINITELY be having these again.

In the bowl:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup Chobani 0% Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons apple butter
  • 1 sliced banana
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • cinnamon to taste

On top

  • a whole bunch of raw almond butter
  • more cinnamon

They were so good! Overnight oats are just so versatile.

Mondays are my super busy days, ugh. I’ve got three classes back to back, and one later in the afternoon. I’ve also got a couple meetings for the evening. It’s going to be a looong day…possibly made better by an afternoon trip to Starbucks? (NOT the one where the barista already knows my name, I’m slightly embarrassed by that).

Speaking of Starbucks…I will forever love this photo.

Have a good day!

P.S. I’m anxiously awaiting tomorrow. A new cupcakery, Gobblecakes just opened downtown and today, they’re releasing special new fall flavors. Umm pumpkin cake with cream cheese icing topped with cranberries?? Yes please. The only thing that would make me happier is if Sweet Frog made a pumpkin flavor. There’s still time.

6 thoughts on “A case of the Mondays

  1. Apple Butter Oats sound great…I’ll have to give them a try. I have a mild case of the Mondays. It’s helped by the fact that I’m going to a conference this week so I’ll be away from the desk for the next two days!

Leave a Reply

