Uncategorized / WIAW / Workout

WIAW…for Penny

Okay, before I start anything. I want to dedicate this post to the best dog, ever. My dog, Penny passed away yesterday after giving my family and I 11 of the best years. I miss her so much already! I have been a complete and utter mess since last night, and I know I won’t be able to focus on much. We lost a member of our family.

I haven’t participated in WIAW for a while! I’ve been a bit lazy with blogging, pretty much just stalking other blogs. Every Wednesday, I got bummed when I realized I totally could have posted (because I take pictures of my food like a weirdo). So yay for participating today! This is actually what I ate Tuesday. It was super busy! I left my apartment around 9 for class, and didn’t get back until around 5:30 doing philanthropy stuff all day.

As for this month’s theme…I’ve definitely been keeping with it. Pumpkin has made its way into every meal. I also currently have three unopened cans in the pantry. #sorrynotsorry

Workout

Per usual, I got up bright and early to fit in a nice 6.5 mile run on the treadmill at the gym. It was rainy, otherwise I would have gone outside. I do love running at the gym, because I get to watch the Today show while simultaneously listening to The Kane Show (my favorite radio station at home) on iheartradio. I’m weird and don’t listen to anything when I run outside.

When I got back from the gym, it was time to shower and get ready for the day!

Breakfast

I decided to switch it up a bit with the overnight oats thing – I really liked it! I used the same recipe as my apple butter oats, but subbed in cottage cheese for the yogurt. If you don’t like cottage cheese, don’t do it. But if you’re ok with it, go for it! I had it with a side of coffee while checking about a million e-mails I had gotten overnight.

After class, I went straight to the Drillfield to check hang out at our booth! Then I got hungry and picked up a salad from Subway. The picture is yucky, but it was so good. Definitely loving that Subway has avocado now. And the fact you can make any sub a salad.

Lunch

I had some reading to do before my 3:30 class, so I attempted to do that while eating. It was a fail. Just in case you’re wondering, this is what I was doing on the Drillfield. Running with a stuffed lion on my back, no big deal.

Cute, right?

My snack today was boring, since it was on the go. I had some almonds and my new favorite Luna bar flavor.

Eaten in class.  Since today’s snack was so boring, I’ll share yesterday’s to redeem myself. I combine a couple spoonfuls of apple butter, some PB2, almond milk, pumpkin spice and cinnamon. Then, I topped it with a warmed up pear. It was so good and comforting since yesterday was gross!

Yesterday, I also stopped by Starbucks on the way home and picked up a pumpkin spice Americano. Love it!

Dinner

So, my picture of dinner isn’t that great. But, dinner was really good! I made sweet potato and black bean taquitos. I just microwaved a sweet potato, added some black beans, cheese and spinach and rolled it up in a whole-wheat tortilla and cooked it at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. So good! I’ve been really obsessed with sweet potatoes lately. oh, and avocados.

Snack

And, on to my latest favorite night time snack: pumpkin spice popcorn. All I did was pop the popcorn and add pumpkin spice and cinnamon. I also added some dark chocolate chips and chopped dates. Soo good.

I love being back for WIAW! Check out Peas and Crayons for more fun!

7 thoughts on “WIAW…for Penny

  1. So sorry to hear about your dog! My grandma’s dog is named Penny.

    I know that when my dog had to be put down, it was the loneliest couple of weeks… We ended up getting a puppy shortly after. We are dog people, can’t live without ’em (although my dad would beg to disagree… Haha).

Leave a Reply

