Inspiration

Every day

While on one of my morning runs this weekend, I made an important goal for myself – one that I’ve been working toward for a while. As I’ve mentioned, I never run with music. This may sound absolutely crazy to some, but it gives me the perfect opportunity to think and “be one with nature,” if you will.

In order to keep my mind off the fact that I forgot to bring back my running gloves from home, I did what I usually do during my runs: plan out my day and check out the cows (the cows thing only happens at school). I usually plan out the distances I’ll be running each day at the beginning of the week; but for some reason, last week I didn’t. This made it pretty difficult to decide how far to go each day.

On Saturday, I wasn’t particularly feeling like running too far. We all have those days, right? The trail I run on at school has mile markers. Since it’s not a loop, I choose a mile marker to stop at, and turn around. I know I’m not the only one who does this, because I usually end up seeing the same people on my way out and back. We always hesitantly wave hello twice.

Before I hit the trail, I decided it was going to be a short day. I struggled with that decision, because it was such a beautiful morning (as most fall mornings are). However, once I got out on the trail, I thought, “hey, I can run a bit longer at a tempo pace.” Why not make it a tempo jog day? Why not add the extra mile and a half?

That’s when I was reminded of my favorite Eleanor Roosevelt quote : “Everyday, do something that scares you.” How true is that? It’s not that running the extra mile scared me, but I knew it was something that would make me proud later in the day. I think it’s so important to step out of our comfort zones at least once a day. We tend to get caught up in our own personal lives and routines, sometimes so much so that we disregard anyone or anything else.

Since coming to college, I’ve realized the importance of putting yourself out there and stepping outside of the box. In a totally non-cliche way, I’ve discovered myself through my on and off campus involvement, half marathons, and all the new friends I’ve made. Years ago, I would have never thought I’d be the person that I am today.

That’s my soap box for the day. I think we all can afford to step outside our comfort zones and do something outside of the ordinary. Most of the time, things are worth the risk. And if they’re not, chalk it up to another life lesson.

What will you do today that scares you? 

8 thoughts on “Every day

  1. i am the same way and never run with music. people think i am insanely crazy just crazy for not running the distances i do without music. however, i get my best thinking done at that time. i actually wrote a post using that quote just last week, I love its message!

  2. It’s so nice to know that I’m not the only crazy person who doesn’t run w/ music. I find it so soothing to just embrace my surroundings. It gives me the perfect time to destress and think of what I love/thankful in life.

  3. So true- when you step outside that comfort zone, sometimes the greatest things happen. Even if it’s just an internal feeling, it can be amazing! Good for you for making the most of your college experience as well 🙂

  4. we are the same person when it comes to running – i listen to no tunes and run around campus to admire Tech’s beauty 🙂 I wonder if I’ve seen you before…

    Anyways, I agree. College is meant to push you a little because its a safe environment to explore something new!

Leave a Reply

