Dinner / Recipes

Make this now.

Last week, I decided to make use of the massive Crock Pot I brought back from home. It was such a good idea. Thanks to Chelcie for the inspiration!

My frozen turkey had been hanging out in the freezer for about a month now, so it was high time to make use of it. One of my absolute favorite comfort foods is chili. I requested it for dinner when I was home last week!

I love chili and Crock Pot recipes because you can just throw whatever you have in them, let it sit, and eat later. It’s the perfect meal for college students in a rush!

I started by defrosting the turkey (leaving it in the fridge during my morning classes). When I arrived home from class, I sauteed it in a frying pan with 1/2 chopped white onion and a chopped red pepper.

It took a bit longer to brown…likely because it wasn’t quite done defrosting when I got to it. I am so impatient!

Next, I got the other ingredients ready to add into the Crock Pot. Into the pot went: 1 can of tomato sauce, 1 can red kidney beans, 1 can spicy red peppers, and 1 packet of McCormick chili seasoning.

Once the turkey was done browning, I drained a bit of the grease and added it to the pot. I set the pot to the warm setting and let it sit for about 6 hours.

By the time I arrived home from my evening class, dinner was ready! It went perfect paired with shredded Colby Jack cheese and some Gilmore Girls. The perfect relaxing night!

Since it’s supposed to get crazy cold next week, I can definitely see myself using my Crock Pot more often.

Here’s the recipe….but you can feel free to adjust it depending on what you have!

Crock Pot Turkey Chili

Ingredients

  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 can spicy red pepper
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • 1 McCormick seasoning packet

Directions

  1. Sautee turkey, red pepper, and onion until turkey is browned.
  2. Add sauce, spicy red peppers, kidney beans, and seasoning packet to Crock Pot.
  3. Drain turkey grease and add to pot.
  4. Stir, let sit for 6 hours on warm (shorter if using the hot setting)
  5. Top with cheese, avocado, plain Greek yogurt, anything your heart desires!

***note: you definitely don’t need a Crock Pot to make this chili. When I was at home, my mom made it on the stovetop and it was just as good!

9 thoughts on “Make this now.

  1. This looks really good! I’m always so scared of crock pots because my mom had many failed attempts at dinner in them when I was younger, but i’ve seen a lot of really good recipes lately that I’d love to try! And you’re right, it is perfect for college students.
    Have a good day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

