Recipes / Running / WIAW

WIAW: Recipes abound

Happy Wednesday (and last day of October?! so weird). We got an early winter here thanks to Sandy. Yesterday, I awoke to snow-covered ground! By the end of the day it was gone, but it was nice to have a little taste of winter. Not-so-nice was the biting wind the second I walked out the door for class. Needless to say, I have not been running outside (despite my strong desire to) due to the weather. I’ve also been feeling a bit under the weather, lately so I’ve been taking my workouts to the gym. I’m antsy to get back on the trail!

On to the fun – it’s WIAW! If you’re unfamiliar, head over to Peas and Crayons to see what it’s all about. This WIAW is all about me experimenting with some new recipes. I’m happy to report they were all huge successes, so let’s get to it!

For breakfast, I prepared a green pancake similar to a recipe I found from Nut Butter Runner. I used to make green microwave muffins and green oatmeal all the time, so why not in a pancake? I topped it with chocolate PB2, cottage cheese, and cinnamon. I also had some coffee with Coffeemate’s Pecan Praline creamer on the side.

Green Power Pancake

  • 1/4 rolled oats
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons egg whites
  • 1 cup spinach
  • cinnamon

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in food processor (I used the Magic Bullet).
  2. Pour batter in greased frying pan.
  3. Flip when edges are browned
  4. Top with desired toppings!

I would have made more…if Magic Bullet wasn’t so loud! I also had a near-death banana.

For lunch, I was craving something warm and a wrap. I made a MASSIVE wrap filled with turkey, a Laughing Cow Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil wedge, romaine, spinach, tomatoes, and some zucchini. I tried to wrap it up pretty, but I think it would have done better if I had a sandwich press. On my Christmas list! I had a sliced up Honeycrisp apple on the side.

Before lunch, I got to baking. I’ve been dying to make Tina’s Chocolate Chip Protein Bars, and yesterday was the perfect day since I didn’t have class until 3:30. Oh man, these were good.

Chocolate Chip Protein Bars

  • 1 cup chocolate protein powder (or any flavor)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • lots of chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine all ingredients. My batter was pretty runny, so don’t worry if yours is, too!
  3. Pour batter into an 8×8 pan.
  4. Bake for about 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Cool, slice, and enjoy!

I topped mine with my favorite peanut butter for a snack. I zapped it in the microwave for 30 seconds….heaven.

x2

Are you ready for my last recipe? It may be my favorite. It combines two of my favorite foods: Mexican and sweet potatoes. I got the recipe from Chelcie, again!

Super easy, here it is.

Mexican Sweet Potato Bowl

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1 cup diced tomatoes (medium)
  • 1/2 chopped white onion
  • avocado
  • cheese

Directions

  1. Chop sweet potato and roast in oven with olive oil/spices of choice at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.
  2. Combine rest of ingredients in a frying pan on stove.
  3. Layer it up, and you’re good to go.

Like Chelcie said, you can pretty much add whatever you like to this. I actually had a ton of leftovers and will probably top some spaghetti squash with it later this week!

My parents came through with dessert. We have this place called Campus Cookies, which allows people to order cookies for delivery for themselves or as gifts. There’s an option where you can order them online from wherever you want; and my parents exercise that right pretty often!

I’m about to go snuggle up with some cookies and hot chocolate and watch The Voice. I have my history textbook and notebook out in case I decide to do some reading 😉

15 thoughts on “WIAW: Recipes abound

  1. Your chocolate chip protein bars look like they came out great! I’ve been wanting to make those too, almost did this weekend but opted for muffins instead. And thanks for reminding me I’ve been wanting to try a green pancake! Yours looks really good.

    • Thank you!! I love the protein bars. I’ve been dying to make pumpkin muffins…but I suppose we’d need to buy a muffin pan first. I liked the green pancake! Little funky to look at, though .

  2. OH my goodness! Those chocolate chip protein bars look SO good! I feel like they’d be perfect for pre-races to fill me up and give me some energy! Love chocolate chip cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

