Thankful Thursday

First thankful Thursday

Is it seriously November 1 already? Where does the time go?  Today I’ve decided to participate in Jessie’s Thankful Thursday link-up. This week has put a lot of things into perspective for me, so I thought Thankful Thursday would be the best way to show that!

The east coast was hit by a horrible storm on Monday as many of you all know. I have family members in Brooklyn, NY, so I definitely worried about them. With good reason, too. Their homes and cars were flooded, leaving them displaced. I was obviously upset when I heard that – I don’t know what I would have done if that had happened to me. Not only was I upset for them, but I was upset with the way I completely overreacted when my apartment did not have power for about 5 hours on Thursday. You would have thought the world was ending by the way I acted. Seriously? People lost their lives, homes, memories, and some STILL don’t have power…and I was feeling bad for myself. I can’t imagine I was the only one who acted this way; but I’m here to say now that I realize it was crazy. The storm really put a lot into perspective for me.

For example, I went to the Jersey shore with my very best friend this past summer. I had the BEST time, seriously. I don’t know if it was being at the shore, or just being with my friend. We don’t see each other often and live about 8 hours away, (when we’re both at our separate schools) so it’s awesome when I get the chance to see her. I really loved the atmosphere of the shore, and listening to her tell me all about the childhood memories she had there. While watching the Today show yesterday, they showed clips of the shoreline – everything was completely ruined. It seemed like just yesterday when Viv and I were walking down the boardwalk playing arcade games for hours. I know these things happen, but it’s just hard to swallow sometimes. Needless to say, I’m thankful for the roof over my head this morning (and every day).

On a lighter note, I’m thankful for my parents for giving me the opportunity to attend such a great school. While waiting for the bus after class yesterday, I looked out on to the Drillfield at all the fallen leaves, and it was so beautiful! Sometimes, we just need to stop, think, and be grateful for all that surrounds us. I know it sounds cliche, but seriously, do it. If allergies weren’t hitting me so hard, I’d totally be hitting the trail, always making sure I stomp on the crunchy leaves.

Some other silly, superficial things I’m thankful for (in no particular order):

  • Starbucks. Great study spot and coffee stop. Really saved the day late yesterday afternoon.

  • Pumpkins and all the fall decor around. It makes being away from home less hard at times.
  • My ability/desire to cook. I’ve come to realize this is not a skill all college students have/desire too. I find that shocking!
  • Running and my ability to keep pushing my body to complete my goals. One year ago, if you had told me I would be running two half marathons, I wouldn’t have believed you for a second.
  • My little sister who Snapchats me all day. And sends me pictures of our dog. Miss them!

That’s all I have for today! I’ve got some homework to do,but we’ll see how productive I am. This chilly weather combined with my cold makes me feel less productive and less like myself. Quite frustrating.

Hope you have a great day!

P.S. how awesome would this be?? I so wish I could knit and have the patience to craft up something cute like that.

17 thoughts on “First thankful Thursday

  1. What a beautiful post hunnie! I too have family in Brooklyn. I’m not quite sure what their situation is though @ the moment 😦 Gosh do I wish I knew! I am so glad to hear that yours are okay for the most part. That brings such a smile to my face!

    Also, I completely agree that we should all just stop in our foot steps & take a second to take in all the wonderful things that we do have. ❤

  2. This is a wonderful post! So many things to be thankful for! We are so incredibly lucky for our parents to send us to such great schools, and for family who cares. That knit is so cute! I wish I was crafty enough to make something like that… 🙂
    Have a great day, girl!

  3. You have lots of things to be thankful for!

    P.S. This is my first time reading [thanks Jessie!] and loveee that you’re in VA! I was born and raised and moved back after college 😀

  4. So sorry to hear about your friends and family that were put out by the storm. So sad 😦 That is so cute that your sister sends you pics from home! That picture of your dog is adorable! I saw that mug coozy the other day on Pinterest and mentioend it to my Mother in law who is an amazing knitter. Hopeing she will make me one for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

