WIAW

WIAW…lots of squash

Happy Hump Day! I’m so happy the week is almost halfway done…even though today I have an exam, and tomorrow I have a speech. Eek! I’ve been preparing so much, so hopefully it pays off. As always, thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting.

I’ll get started and apologize in advance for the rather Β harsh lighting in these photos. My apartment is just not conducive to decent food photography! Oh, and let’s not even talk about the fact that most of these meals were scarfed down in 2.5 seconds. Guess that’s what happens when you have 4 meetings in a row? I don’t want to complain because I love being involved. It’s just so ironic how everything seems to fall on the sam e day. My weekly to-do list is getting smaller as the week goes on, so no complaining there!

Breakfast

Breakfast was stovetop oatmeal (1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup water, 1 egg, LOTS of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice). If you haven’t tried whisking an egg into your oatmeal, give it a try next time. I got the idea from Ashley for “custard oats.” I loved the consistency, and the extra protein kept me full for hours.

Eating it straight out of the jar was extra fun. It made the peanut butter warm and gooey – the best!

I spent the morning working away in Starbucks (some things don’t change). I drank the new Christmas blend with caramel brulee syrup – yum! I also ate an unpictured banana. I neglected to take a picture because it got smushed in my backpack…and who really needs to see a smushed banana?

Oh, and I found a heads-up penny on the floor. I kept it in my jacket pocket in hopes it will bring me some luck!

Lunch

Lunches have been pretty boring, mostly because I’ve been eating lots of my new favorite deli turkey I bought this past weekend. It’s cajun-flavored, so a bit spicy. I also bought Alouette sharp cheddar spreadable cheese and am loving that in a big way. Lunch has been cheese, hummus, turkey and spinach sandwiches on whole wheat bread (or English muffins, whatever’s around) with massive grapes and yogurt.

I’m not sure how I feel about the Yoplait brand Greek yogurt, so I added some butterscotch chips in to sweeten it up.

I was starving when I got back from class. Literally ravenous. I started by eating some of this yummy trail mix.

Then, I decided to have something a little more substantial (knowing I wouldn’t be back until later) and sliced up an apple and heated up some almond butter. My favorite!

Dinner

I can sum up dinners in one word: squash. Since I prepped a spaghetti squash on Sunday, I have a lot of it. I’ve been trying to be creative in prep, so I made a Mexican-esque bowl by sauteeing ground turkey with red onion, black beans, and taco seasoning and adding it to a bed of spaghetti squash, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, and avocado.

My spaghetti squash prep was KEY to easy and quick dinners…and it’s lasting me forever. I think I’ve finally perfected the method.

I ended the night with dark chocolate almond milk and copious amounts of grapes. Can’t get enough.

Back tomorrow!

20 thoughts on “WIAW…lots of squash

  1. I’ve been on a squash kick lately too! Its so yummy and filling. And I’m so glad you heat up your almond butter–I think I’ve told you this before but that’s my favorite thing to do! Have a great wednesday and thanks for sharing!
    xoxo

  2. Haha I love the smashed banana- and eating the oatmeal out of a peanut butter jar. I’d totally eat mine out a cookie butter jar- just so I could eat the cookie butter first πŸ™‚

  3. I still have yet to try spaghetti squash and I think I really need to get on that!! Your dinner looks delicious. I also am a huge fan of cajun turkey – I always get it on my sandwiches at my favorite deli!

  4. That mexican bowl looks amazing!!! I’m currently at work waiting for 4pm to roll around so I can get out of here and eat and these pictures are not helping!

Leave a Reply

