Breakfast / Random stuff / Recipes / Thankful Thursday / Thursday Thoughts

Thoughts and thanks round 2

Let’s chat.

First off, I can’t believe it’s finally Thursday. The day I’ve been waiting for. Today, at 10:45 A.M. I am officially on Thanksgiving break (I wrote this post on Wednesday…so here’s to hoping I didn’t jinx anything!). I’ve got a fun afternoon planned of random erranding, packing, and race prep! Woo!Β On to my random thoughts for today…

While studying for my Public Relations exam, I found an interesting stat: 57% of people today talk more online than they do in real life. What do you think about that, my fellow bloggers? I’m generally a quiet person, but you can definitely get me talking. While I spend a large amount online corresponding back and forth with fellow bloggers, I still consider this conversation and socializing. Sure, it’s not socializing in the traditional sense, but I think that’s where our society is moving thanks to modern technology. That’s not to say that face-to-face communication isn’t important…it definitely is. There’s nothing better than catching up with someone over coffee, a meal, or just as you’re walking to class. Constant communication through texting, Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail is just a way of life now. They’re hardly supplements for face-to-face communication, though.

I’ve made an important decision for myself. Yesterday, I was planning to go out for another long run, when I realized I just wasn’t feeling it. I think for so long, I was caught up in constantly doing long, tempo runs as part of my half marathon training. However, I’m not training for a half at the moment, so there’s no need to rack up crazy mileage if I just don’t want to. For now, I’ll keep my mileage anywhere between 40-50 miles per week, and won’t get upset if I don’t achieve a certain mileage. I want to focus my workouts more on speed and strength, like I’ve said before. It’s totally a mental thing, but I think it’s good to get out.

On a far less serious note, yesterday I made apple pie oats and they were so good. I’ve been so tentative to try apples in my oatmeal (mostly because I’m so partial to having bananas with breakfast…so Type-A), but I have a bunch of Honey crisp apples to use up before I leave, so I gave it a go.

I combined 1/3 cup oats, 3/4 water, almost a full chopped apple, and a ton of cinnamon. I topped them with peanut butter and poured a little unsweetened vanilla almond milk in. They were so good.

And now, I’m linking up with Jessie for Thankful Thursday! And so soon to Thanksgiving, too.

  1. I’m thankful my mom picked up the phone Tuesday night when I called her completely overwhelmed. She reminded me to take everything one step at a time, and not look at EVERYTHING I have to do at once. It totally helped.
  2. I’m thankful I’ll be home on Saturday. I need it!
  3. Last but not least, I’m thankful Starbucks has already put up all their Christmas decorations. It makes studying in there a bit more cheerful.
  4. Back to my previous thought, I am so thankful for all the fellow bloggers I communicate with daily. I think the blogosphere offers a totally new insight into people’s lives, and introduces me to people I may never have known before.
  5. Umm and can we all agree that we’re thankful Channing Tatum is People’s Sexiest Man of the Year? I think so.

yep, you’re welcome.

That’s all I have for today! Hope you have a wonderful Thursday!

12 thoughts on “Thoughts and thanks round 2

  1. S OOOOO JEALOUS. I can’t believe you will be home so soon! I am that blogger, i talk and interact way more with people online than I ever do in person. I rarely hang out with people except at work but in the social media world it is like I am everywhere.

  2. This is awesome! Love your thankful things πŸ™‚
    I’m the same way- I’m actually pretty quiet at first in person, although once I’m comfortable with someone, it takes a lot to shut me out. But I also tend to be semi- antisocial so that kind of adds to the mix. I like my me time, if that makes any sense. I think it’s great that you’re listening to what your body is craving. It’s hard to amp up mileage a ton all at once. I have trouble telling myself to take a break because I always want to be at a super high mileage, but in reality, 40 miles is a lot!
    So jealous that you’re on vacation πŸ™‚ I still have 4 more days!!

    • Exactly – I forget that some people couldn’t dream of having mileage like that. I just don’t want to burn out. So excited to be on vacation…now I just have to find motivation to go to two more classes. We’ll see how that goes!

  3. I’m jealous! I’ve got to stick it out until Tuesday before my Thanksgiving break starts!
    I love blogging but I definitely still prefer in-person communication to social media. It can be tough because I’m a little shy, but it’s so much more fulfilling than talking to someone online. But I love social-media based communication too, it allows you to connect to so many people around the globe you would never meet otherwise!

    • Totally agree – and I think it’s almost essential to stay connected online now-a-days, too. It’s definitely nice to not blog once in a while and “unplug,” though. Stick it out until Tuesday, and you’re golden!

  4. I love your #1 – Mom actually answered the phone lol #mommyknowsbest πŸ˜› πŸ˜› While I looooove talking to/meeting people face-to-face, the 57% statistic doesn’t surprise me.

    Your apple pie oats look great btw – I love this combo! Yes to looooots of cinnamon πŸ™‚

    I have to disgree with People’s sexiest man alive though..he’s aight – but definitely not THE sexiest. I lost all respect for this mag after they gave George Clooney the same title in ’06. The past ten years of sexiest men alive: Ben Affleck, Johnny Depp, Jude Law, Matthew McCaughney, George Clooney, Matt Damon, Hugh Jackman, Johnny Depp (not fair), Ryan Reynolds, Bradley Cooper, Channing Tatum.

    I shoud be on this panel..with special added perks of course like one-on-one Q&A with all possible candidates #dreamcometrue

  5. Great pictures of your oats! They look delicious and you did an awesome job photographing them πŸ™‚ As for the sexist man – I must disagree. I’m really surprised Ian Somerhalder didn’t earn the title this year. That man is the definition of beautiful. I don’t really get the Channing Tatum appeal (I will say he has a nice smile though). Sorry to disagree 😦

  6. Love this post girl. You have such a great list of things to be thankful for. Isn’t it amazing how moms will always be there for you, and they know just the right words to calm & relax you? I’m not sure what I’d do with mine to be quite honest.

    I’m so excited that you will soon be home with your family. You are going to have such a wonderful time. I already can’t wait to hear all about your time πŸ™‚

  7. Amen to that last one girl πŸ™‚ I just found your blog through that inlinkz thing on Jessie’s post…one more to add to the google reader! I liked that stat you talked about…I’m pretty quiet in person until you get to know me, but in this welcoming community, I’ve found some people who seem to know me better after two weeks than people I’ve known my whole lives. Pretty amazing and something I’m very thankful for, too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

