Books

You need to read this

Good morning! I’m up and ready bright and early today, I’ve got plans to hang out at the mall with my friend from high school! I love being home, it gives me the chance to hang out with friends I don’t get to see while at school. Since I just finished this book yesterday, I thought it was a perfect time to post a review for Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick.

Okay…so you know it’s a good book when you can barely put it down. I even ditched my crazy early bedtime the other night and woke up early to continue reading this book. I stumbled upon it while browsing Barnes and Noble before I left for school. I was immediately interested because it was already a movie I was interested in seeing. I’m all about reading the book before the movie, so I had to get it.

This book is so good. Really. It’s a bit of a heavy topic, so I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re in for a light read. It made me think a whole lot, though. I ended up flagging pages and highlighting certain passages that I found most interesting.

The book follows the story of Pat Peoples, a 35-year old man who has just been let out of a mental health facility after four years. We don’t know the exact reason he is there, (I won’t spoil it!) but from the first page, it’s pretty clear he has some deep rooted issues.

Pat believes his entire life is a movie; essentially, the whole book is him narrating his “movie.” What Pat doesn’t realize is that his reality isn’t his real life. Pat has one goal the entire novel: to win back his ex-wife, Nikki. ย He lost contact with her prior to moving into the mental health facility, and believes he can win her back by reading classic literature and constantly exercise.

Pat moves back in with his family – a loving mother who tries to get him back on his feet, and a father whose mood is dictated by whether or not the Philadelphia Eagles win or lose. His brother is happily married, although Pat never went to the wedding. Pat is introduced to his brothers’ friend Tiffany; also psychologically damaged. She follows Pat around, which he finds odd, but he allows it.

I think what I really liked about Pat’s character was his relentlessness. Pat believes in silver linings and that everything happens for a reason. As a result, he strives to find the best in everything and is forever hopeful. I know a lot of people who choose to be pessimistic so that they’re never disappointed. The fact is, disappointment is an important part of life – one that allows us to grow and learn.

You’ll read this and think Pat is ridiculous for holding out and waiting for Nikki for so long. I did, too. Looking back, I admire the fact that he was so hopeful. Pat’s fault is his extreme denial to live in reality, and that was frustrating for me as a reader.

Regardless, the book was a great read that got me thinking. It comes out in theaters this Wednesday, so you know I’ll be there!

Do you think it’s better to be overly optimistic? Or pessimistic?ย 

10 thoughts on “You need to read this

  1. Looks like a great book, I’ve seen the movie preview also and was intrigued. I didn’t even know it was a book! I’ll put it on my “to read” list, I’m always looking for a unique story that I can’t put down. This one sounds really interesting.

  2. Love that you did a book review on here! It shows that you’re more well-rounded than just a running-obsessed health nut (which you obviously are, but it’s nice to see other sides of people ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Hope your time at home is amazing and you have a great time with your friends from high school. And read lots of books that I’m going to take notes on so I can add them to my kindle list!

Leave a Reply

