Recipes / WIAW

What I Ate…at home

Hello! It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday. Today’s edition is special because I’m at home! Which means…more space to cook and have fun! Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting. Check out what everyone else is up to!



Thankfully, I’ve been sleeping in about an hour or so later than I normally would at school. I definitely enjoy my sleep at home. Yesterday morning, I woke up ready for a run. I’ve been loving dates lately (thanks to Lindsay) and eat one every time before I head out on a run. I actually checked out the stats on Livestrong.com, sugar and carbs are great pre-run! I grabbed my water and a treadmill workout from Tina.

Hers was originally 6 miles, but I ended with a 1 mile cool down for a total of 7 miles. The workout was tough, a mix of 800s and 400s with a couple rests in between. I watched Ke$ha on the Today show (one of the main reasons I opted to run inside despite the nice weather).

After I got all ready, I toasted up two Van’s multigrain waffles and topped them with pumpkin butter, chunky peanut butter, and banana slices.

I had the rest of my banana with peanut butter on the side. I loved this.

A little while after breakfast, I headed out to the mall with one of my friends from high school. I had an unpictured apple pie Larabar, too. Breakfast kind of failed me yesterday. I had an iced Creme Brulee Americano with soy while at the mall – that was delicious.

For lunch, I was really craving grilled cheese. It was pretty gloomy yesterday, so that’s probably why. I made a grilled cheese with a Laughing Cow Queso Fresco cheese wedge, the remainder of my deli turkey, sliced tomato, and spinach.

I dipped it in tomato soup and it hit the spot. I had a sliced Honeycrisp apple not long after.

I had some erranding to do for my parents in the afternoon, (they know I can’t sit still) so after a hellish trip to Costco, I was about ready to eat my hand off. I came home and had an apple cinnamon Chobani. It’s my favorite flavor for fall!

Now for the best part of the day: dinner…I based it off this recipe I found on Tina’s blog. It was sooo good. I don’t usually go for sweet pizza, but I decided to switch it up.

Balsamic Date, Walnut, and Mozzarella Pizza

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • chopped red onion
  • 3-4 chopped dates
  • mushrooms
  • mozzarella cheese (feta would have been great!)
  • chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • pizza dough

I started by sauteeing my red onions with a little olive oil. Once they were soft, I added in the chopped dates, mushrooms, balsamic vinegar, and brown sugar until it got to be a thick, jelly-like consistency. Then, I spread the compote on my pizza dough, and added the cheese. It baked at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. I added the walnuts during the last 5 minutes of baking.

The dough got huge!

I ate the entire thing – can’t let something that good go to waste! I finished off the night with some hot chocolate and a couple handfuls of grapes while watching New Girl and The Mindy Project. So funny!

22 thoughts on “What I Ate…at home

  1. You and your hot chocolate, girl. Doesn’t get any better than that 😉 My parents are always giving me errands too. Otherwise I go stir crazy! Usually I’ll go with my mom, when she’s not working. I’ve been craving grilled cheese lately too; and lucky for me, I ran out of deli chicken so I got to use up the cheese at my house before I came home! Way to go on the speed workouts- I have zero motivation to do anything fast on my own. Give me a 10-miler any day. Have a wonderful week 🙂

    • The speed workouts are tough. It’s such a mental thing for me though since they tend to be shorter distances. I still prefer longer tempo runs! Totally know what you mean with the whole stir crazy thing…I have issues sitting still.

  2. this makes me so ready to be home. there are so many foods I miss terribly that I just don’t buy myself. fresh fruit is one of them. I saw that workout and think it will be my next interval workout for when I am back have a great holiday!

  3. Yum! Your eats look so good! Tomato soup and grilled cheese is the ultimate comfort food! We haven’t had much rain here so I haven’t had the chance to enjoy it yet. Hopefully I’ll get to soon! Have a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

