WIAW

Friday things 11/23

Good morning! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving. Ours was super low-key this year, since we are opting to visit Chicago for Christmas. It was just my immediate family and my cousin from Colorado who recently moved here for a job! A Thanksgiving recap and another link-up with Peas and Crayons for some Thanksgiving eats! I guess I’m quite the over-achiever with this WIAW stuff.


We started the day by waking up early to run a Turkey Trot nearby. I love starting the holidays with a quick race, it’s such a great way to get in the holiday spirit with other fellow runners. We even took Pippa to do the 2k walk! I heard she loved it. After the race, we picked up some Starbucks and headed back home to prepare our feast.

I also had made a batch of pumpkin oatmeal muffins using Tina’s recipe which we had for breakfast. They were really good! Kind of a weird consistency, but that didn’t stop us! We watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, too. One of my sister’s good friends was one of the high school cheerleaders for the parade, it was awesome to see her on TV! We went to the parade when we lived in New Jersey, I definitely recommend going…despite the freezing cold weather and un-godly early wake up call πŸ™‚

My dad was actually in charge of a lot of the cooking this year. He listened to a show on NPR to learn how to prepare the turkey, and found his own apple pie recipe.

 

I was pretty impressed. My mom and I worked on the rest. I prepared my favorite Thanksgiving side dish – stuffing. We add apples to it, and it’s delicious. I ate far too much of it, and ended up feeling a bit lethargic later…

Although I didn’t snap too many pictures, we also had all your regular Thanksgiving staples, green bean casserole, mashed sweet and white potatoes, a big salad, cold pea salad, and of course, the turkey! I was in charge of putting the stuffing in.

While we were waiting for dinner, we watched some football (mom and I got made fun of for actually sitting still and watching) even though our teams weren’t on. We also took our Christmas card pictures! We’ve been sending cards with family photos for years, so I’m excited to see how they turn out this year.

Once we were sufficiently stuffed after dinner, we sat around and watched more football until The Blind Side came back on ABC Family. The Blind Side is one of my favorite movies, so I was so happy to see it on TV! I called it quits embarassingly early last night…eating fest left me feeling a bit like this…

Hope you have a great holiday weekend!

 

13 thoughts on “Friday things 11/23

  1. That looks like a wonderful day hun! Love starting the day with a run with loved ones πŸ™‚ And The Blind Side is one of my favorite movies, too! Watched part of it before we put on Elf πŸ™‚

  2. It looks like you had an awesome day! The turkey trot looked like so much fun. Love that your dog went too! Hope the rest of your week goes well πŸ™‚

  3. The picture of your dog is great! πŸ™‚
    Sounds like you had an awesome Thanksgiving. This was the first year I’d ever run a race the morning of and my sister and I loved it so much that we decided to make it an annual Thanksgiving tradition too!

Leave a Reply

