Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday…it’s all just “stuff”

Good morning! I just got back from a great sprinting workout – maybe I’ll post it tomorrow?! I had a much more relaxing morning since I don’t have class until 3:30 today. I know, I’m crazy for still waking up early…sorry.

I alluded to what I’m going to talk about today in Tuesday’s post, and I’ve been anxiously awaiting writing this post ever since! Before I start, I want to thank Jessie for hosting Thankful Thursday. Check out her blog to see what everyone else is up to.

I’ll admit, I’m generally a very trusting person. Although I grew up in a suburb of Chicago surrounded by “bad” neighborhoods stricken with poverty and violence, I have always believed the best in people. That’s why what happened on Tuesday morning makes me so upset with myself. I don’t mean to get negative, but I’m now aware that I really shouldn’t be so trusting…even in my small college town.

When I got to my car early Tuesday morning to head to the gym for my morning workout, the inside of my car was completely ransacked. My glove compartment was opened, all my stuff was out and all over the place. I was so scared. Even worse, my iPod was stolen.

I NEVER leave my iPod in my car overnight. Sure, I’ll leave it in there when I’m running a quick errand, but never over night. If I do leave it in my car, it’s hidden in the glove compartment, never in plain view. As luck would have it, the one time I leave it in there, it gets stolen. Luckily, nothing else was stolen…not that there really was much else to steal. I just couldn’t believe that this could happen.

I have no idea how they got in my car. It was locked, and there appears to be no break-in damage, so that remains a mystery to me. That’s beside the point, though. I called my mom right after I discovered it. Do you want to know the first question she asked? “Are you okay?” That’s when I realized…I was most upset that my beloved iPod was gone.

An iPod. Really? Something serious could have happened to me, and I was upset about losing a bunch of music (that’s already backed up on my laptop). That’s when I realized. It’s all just stuff. We’re surrounded so much by all these material items that we lose what’s really important in life. Obviously, I fall victim to this. I’m always on my phone, laptop, obsessed with shopping and buying new clothes. I’m trying to unplug more and more whenever possible…I’ve seriously become a slave to my laptop and phone.

I think I use a lot of these material items to compensate for the loneliness I sometimes feel when I’m away from family while at school. That’s why being home for the holidays helps a lot. This year and in years past, presents for Christmas have become so much less important to me. What’s more important is the comfort and support I get from spending time with my family.

I thought this post was pretty timely, as the holidays are quickly approaching. Don’t get me wrong, all the “stuff” I have in my life is great, and all, but I’d be no where without the people in my life and how they make me feel. So what, I’m without an iPod? I’ll make a CD. Unplugging the laptop for the night? Read a book. Phone’s dead? Have an actual conversation with someone.

Whew, that was heavier than I planned it to be. Long story short, I’m thankful for all the people in my life…including you, my readers (even if we don’t get to talk in real life).

What “stuff” in your life can you do without? 

When did you realize holiday gifts were less important than they once were? 

18 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday…it’s all just “stuff”

  1. Oh my goodness, hun, I’m so sorry. I know EXACTLY how you feel, since the same thing happened to me earlier in the year. I discovered it in the same way, too…on my way to the gym at 5:30 in the morning. Such a scary feeling. And I did the same thing. And my mum’s reaction was the same. Good for you for embracing what’s really important, and that is your safety 🙂 I’m glad that you’re ok and have taken the best approach possible to handling it!

  2. Oh my gosh! That is so scary! I’m so glad you’re okay and there wasn’t damage done to your car. I think when we get scared we put up defense mechanisms, so in your case, your ipod, as a safety net. I’ve definitely clung to some pretty ridiculous things before just because I don’t want to admit that I’m scared. I think I’d freak out if it was my computer… I’m attached at the hip to that baby! Great post, girl 🙂 Have a wonderful day ❤

    • If I lost my computer…I have no idea what i’d do! It literally has everything on it…really makes me want to consider backing it up on a hard drive if anything ever happens. Thank you, you too!

  3. Aw Megan that is such a good realization! I am glad to see your mom has only gotten sweeter with time. I’m glad to hear you’re okay but I am sorry about your iPod. Luckily Christmas is coming up so there should be some good deals! Stay strong!

  4. GOSH I can relate so much to this. No i did not have anything stolen but i feel that when I am homesick or lonely I tend to concentrate more on the ‘things’. like how i don’t have the kind of money I wish i had, like i can’t shop for food like I want to etc. gosh I never put these two and two together so thank you for this. I hope you are able to stay safe in that neighborhood, man city living. I am super cautious these days with everything.

    • I completely know what you mean – I hate how I get like that. Maybe that’s one of the many reasons I love being at home?? I bet you are – I hope to live in a city one day, so I’ll definitely be more prepared with this lesson.

  5. i am SO SO glad you’re okay – i think i saw you tweet about this (maybe i’m making that up) and was super concerned, but your mom is right – your safety is the only thing that matters. my mom always used to tell us that if someone tried to steal our bike just give it to them because things can always be replaced and she’s totally right. there are tons of things i can live without. i always say “oh i’d die without [insert random unnecessary object here]” but in reality i could pretty much get by with food, a few sweaters and some jeans, and my family. amazing how it all really boils down to that – we don’t need much but we want it all. great post right in time for this season where people become SO obsessed with the material stuff.

    • Haha, I probably did tweet about it. Your mom is right! And I love that list – you really don’t need much at all. Thanks, I thought it was super timely. I do love my material stuff, though. I just appreciate what I have so much more now!

  6. I’m so sorry about what happened to you! My car was broken into when I was in college and I felt so violated. Your mom is right though, it’s so much more important that you are okay!

    As I’ve gotten older I’ve definitely appreciated less of “the things” and appreciated spending time with family and friends more. I think a lot of it has to do with nostalgia. I can tell how much I’ve grown up and while it’s exciting it’s also a bit scary. I think it helps to unplug sometimes and put things into perspective!

    Once more, I’m SO glad you’re okay!

    • That’s true – I think I was scared because I felt violated…I didn’t even think about that! I’m definitely trying to put things in perspective more these days – being home for the holidays helped with that. Plus, it’s so much more easier to focus on school work when I don’t have Facebook, Twitter, and other blogs open! Thanks 🙂

  7. This post was absolutely wonderful to read just now. It’s so true, they’re just material things (although an iPod, I’m so sorry! I’d be really upset too).

    Your mom is adorable, I can see why you miss your family so much when you’re away!

    Something similar has been happening to my roommate’s car. I gotta ask, did you happen to lose a spare set of car keys? She lost hers a few months ago, and is convinced that someone found them and is using them to break into her car periodically. It was always locked, and would stay locked, but the glove compartments, etc. were all opened and her Raybans got stolen. Just an idea! Now she keeps her car completely empty.

    • That’s such a good idea – luckily my spare set of keys is safe at home. Your roommate must be incredibly annoyed…especially with the loss of Ray-Bans – those are expensive! Again with the material things, though! Love my mom! Hope you had a great day!

  8. Before I say anything else, I want to tell you that I am so glad you are safe & sound hunnie. Even though we’ve never met before, i don’t know what I’d do without being able to read my Megan posts in the morning :). I just can’t imagine the emotions you must of been feeling. I probably would’ve felt so violated, and frustrated in every way possible. You truly are so lucky to have such a wonderful mom who knows just the right words to say to turn the situation around <3.

  9. oh Megan, like your mom i was more worried about you and if you would have come to the car and someone was there…..omg, you need to be careful. danger lurks everywhere and i am not saying the world is bad but there are people in it that can be hurful to anyone. i pray for a guardian angel to watch over you and the years away from home will go quickly and then well we move on. just take care and your blag as usual was so inspiring.
    love to you always,
    Aunt Sandy

Leave a Reply

