High Five Friday

High Five Friday 11/30

I thought I’d do something a bit different today and participate in Meg’s High Five Friday! I completely agree with her, we don’t give ourselves enough credit for the accomplishments we make throughout the week. I can’t believe it’s already the last day of November. Let’s hope the first couple weeks of December go by this quickly…I’d love for this semester to be over!

Today, I’m high-fiving both my weekly workout accomplishments and schoolwork accomplishments. Remember that speed workout I talked to you about yesterday? Well, incorporating speed into my runs was something I used to be so scared to do, especially when on the treadmill. I have an extremely rational fear of flying off the treadmill, so I always kept to a tempo pace on the treadmill.

Lately, I’ve been making up a bunch of different kinds of workouts aimed less at distance, but more at speed. I’ve been loving these Tabata-esque workouts. Here’s the one I did yesterday. I was feeling good, so I ended up completing 6 miles, but you can adjust it to any distance you want. I decided to do 5 x 800s. Eeek! 800s were my least favorite track workout. How things have changed.

Here’s what it looked like:

Workouts

I’m not sure why it’s formatting so oddly…click the link and you’ll find it!

I’ve done a bunch of other treadmill workouts I’ve found on Tina’s blog, as well as making some up on my own. It’s a great way to minimize boredom. I love watching the Today show while I’m there, but it gets boring if you’re on the same speed for such a long period of time.

On to my school work accomplishments…I’ve been incredibly productive this week. Like…too productive. I feel like it’s going to end really soon, but I might as well keep it up while I can! I was able to finish all my long-term assignments due up until finals! Again, no idea how this happened, but I’m loving it.

That pretty much means all I have left to do is study for finals. This is great, because it will allow me extra time to devote to activities I haven’t been able to devote as much time as I would have liked to. It’s kind of a double-edged sword, though. I’m going to have a lot of free time…and I like to be busy!

For example, I’m working on a longer in-depth story as a staff writer for my school’s newspaper. I’m focusing on the Paleo, Vegan, and other fad diets. Sarah, Molly, and I already shared our thoughts on these diets on Twitter Wednesday night…

I’m excited to write it and talk to people who are on these diets for whatever reason.

I’ll also be reading for fun…because that’s just what I like to do. Oh, and catching up on all my TV shows. I’m anxiously awaiting break, as you can tell.

I found a hot yoga studio within 5 minutes of my apartment, so one of my friends and I are going to a class tonight! I’m so excited, I haven’t done hot yoga in forever.

Have a great weekend – I’ll be back with weekend snapshots!

Oh, and I’ve found something to keep me busy over winter break… this.

Ever have a problem with too much productivity?

How do you feel about fad diets? 

14 thoughts on “High Five Friday 11/30

  1. i agree with that twitter chat. it is just crazy. I am all for eat what your body wants, when it wants it. i swear our bodies are magical and can handle balance – not loads of crazy stuff. it needs all food groups period. way to go on the workouts, sounds pretty fun. I do speedy treadmill intervals one day a week and I do love it.

    • Definitely agree with you here. I’ll try some recipes from these diets here and there, but they’re not the way of life for me. Thanks! It’s fun to switch it up every now and then 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shoutout! Good thing I stalk your blog everyday or I totally wouldn’t see it… for some reason I don’t get a notification 😦
    Oh well… anyways yea, no fad diets for me. I hope you have the best time at hot yoga… you’re going to love it!! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Way to be with the high fives girl!! Those are some great things to pat yourself on the back for…and I love that you’re already planning on rewarding yourself during your break! That’s awesome (especially that reading part…my favorite thing to do 🙂 ). Have a greatttttttttt time at hot yoga tonight! Can’t wait to see the pics!

  4. Beyond jealous that you’re basically done with all your work for the rest of the semester! Seriously how is that possible? I’ve definitely never had a problem with too much productivity haha, I wish!

    And I’m not really into “fad” diets at all. It kind of bothers me when people think “gluten free” is a fad diet. For some people, yes, it is. But others with legitimate Celiac’s or a gluten intolerance, it’s something we have to do to feel our best. If I could eat gluten, trust me, I would! (and sometimes I do anyway)

    • I think I spoke too soon….a couple of my professors just made last minute quizzes for next week 😦 I hate when I jinx myself!

      I can totally see what you mean about the gluten-free diet. My friend (also GF) has said the same thing to me before. She’s a nutrition major, and has said it’s actually more harmful to your health if you’re eliminating gluten when you don’t need to! The fact that people still see it as cool and hip is beyond me!

  5. haha thanks for the shoutout! i seriously know it makes paleo people mad when people call it a fad diet, but i don’t get it at all. i totally agree with meghan about “gluten free” being a fad diet. if you are allergic to gluten that’s one thing but when people are like, “oh i’m trying to lose weight, so i’m not eating gluten” my first reaction is “are you crazy?” i just don’t think eliminating huge food groups that you aren’t allergic to is a good way to diet. plus i just can’t live without my bread.

    • Exactly! Like I told Meghan, it’s actually harmful to eliminate it when you don’t need to! I really can’t wait to get started on writing the article, though. It’ll be really interesting. I think Paleo is a fad diet…why people want to be like cavemen in that way is beyond me, though!

  6. I really just don’t get the paleo diet at all. What’s so wrong with beans and whole grains? I also really hope you post your article, I bet it’ll be super interesting!

    Congrats on being productive this week, you’re almost done with the semester woohoo!

    • Of course I’ll post it! I honestly just don’t know how it works…especially for runners who NEED carbs! To each his own, I guess. Can’t wait to be done with the semester, then I’m off home to Chicago!

Leave a Reply

